View Full Version : is there a curve utility!?!


MrFace
02 February 2004, 06:38 AM
can anyone tell me where to find the curve utility? i've included a link to an image from a nice car modelling/mapping tutorial.

http://www.3dtotal.com/team/tutorials/minishading/img/10.jpg

how it looks in the graph editor:

http://www.3dtotal.com/team/tutorials/minishading/img/11.jpg

it's the second node over from the left. i know you can get a similar effect using ramps, but the nice thing about using a curve is you can get values higher than one.

thanks!

gmask
02 February 2004, 06:41 AM
Originally posted by MrFace

it's the second node over from the left. i know you can get a similar effect using ramps, but the nice thing about using a curve is you can get values higher than one.


You can type in values higher than 1 for luminace in the color picker and therefore go as high as you need with a ramp

MrFace
02 February 2004, 07:15 AM
well, ok... cool. but if it's possible i'd still like the flexibility of having a curve tool. i tend to think in splines, i guess :p .

so if anyone knows if this tool still exists/where to find it, please tell me! thanks again.

HotBox
02 February 2004, 07:26 AM
that curve node is a keyframe node not a material utility and judging by the graph editor it looks as though there is some kind of setDrivenKey between the sampler info node and the blinn shader

MrFace
02 February 2004, 07:29 AM
awesome! thanks for the info.:bounce: i'm excited to try that method out.

MDurante
02 February 2004, 05:13 PM
http://www.highend3d.com/boards/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=mayarender&Number=168215&page=&view=&sb=&o=&vc=1

- Matthew Durante

MrFace
02 February 2004, 07:03 PM
i've found that setting driven keys is easier for me. thanks, though.

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 02:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1