View Full Version : how do i anit alias my renders


whiteboy
02 February 2004, 01:30 AM
I am having trouble rendering out the seams on my car door. In the perps view they look nice and crisp but when i render it i get an ungly choppy looking seam. I turned my settings in maya render to production what else might be causing this problem. Please any help me out. Notice that the seam doesnt really look like a seam. Looks more like a line.

lazzhar
02 February 2004, 09:47 AM
I thinky you should try clicking on 1:1 in your Render View.

whiteboy
02 February 2004, 05:41 PM
that did not fix my problem do you have any other ideas. Shoot it is hard to render in maya. In other 3d packages it is easy and you get a nice result.

lazzhar
02 February 2004, 10:07 PM
If you switch to Production Quality in both MR ot Maya Software you'll get smoother results.
At least it works fine for me all the time, and I find very hard to get nice render in other programs :rolleyes:

whiteboy
02 February 2004, 10:22 PM
well i have the quality to production and still get jagged edges. Is there something i have to do to the surface.

lazzhar
02 February 2004, 09:29 AM
I guess it's your bump texture wich is a low resolution?

whiteboy
02 February 2004, 05:57 PM
hmm i dont have a bump texture on it. It is just a blinn with a blue color.

lazzhar
02 February 2004, 06:46 PM
Weird, what's that vertical line? it looks like a bump.

could you post a file scene or similar so we could take a look?

whiteboy
02 February 2004, 07:22 PM
ok the line is my door seam. It doesnt look right because i dont know how to control the anit alias problem. I will email you the file. Post renders of it please. Also could you make the paint look like car paint too. Just tell me how you made changes.

whiteboy
02 February 2004, 07:25 PM
lol

what is your email address so i can send it to you

lazzhar
02 February 2004, 08:42 PM
My email is lazzhar@hotmail.com , I use it as messenger login too.

whiteboy
02 February 2004, 02:04 PM
Thanks alot man that file really helped me. See i never put a uv texture on the object. That seemed to be the problem. THanks man.

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 12:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1