XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : TimeSpeed

02-15-2004, 04:57 PM
Using DFX, I'm trying run an animation backwards using TimeSpeed set at -1. It plays great, but when I try to record it, DFX stops after frame 1.

Any Hints?

02-16-2004, 03:35 PM
Be sure to set the global project range large enough to encompass the reversed clip.

ie if you are running a clip in reverse from 300 to 200, and have your global range set to 1-100, it won't work, because it can't look beyond frame 100.

02-16-2004, 03:46 PM
Hmmm...I'm trying to render 1-160 (160-1), global range is 1-160.
Should I have the global range set to 1-320? -160-160?
Thanks for your help,

02-16-2004, 03:53 PM
Interesting......I just tested it here at home and it works fine. There must be some other problem with the flow at work.....I'll check it out when I get in.

02-17-2004, 06:46 PM
Well, I can get TimeSpeed to play and save on the system at work, but not in the flow I need. There's something peculiar to that flow that's screwing me up.

02-17-2004, 08:30 PM
Well the first place to look is the console window, to see what error it is giving you. This will at least point you in the right direction. (ie was it a loader failing, was it a saver failing?)

Next try to expand your global range from -200 to 500 or so, and see if that renders.

02-17-2004, 09:47 PM
That did it. In fact, I was able to set global range as 0-130 (render 1-130) and it worked fine. As soon as I set global to 1-130, it quit with a "Saver Failed" warning.
I checked the timeline, and there were a few keyframes at 0. Does TimeSpeed need the global range to encompass all the keyframes in a flow in order to make the proper computations?

Anyway, thanks for helping figure this out.

02-17-2004, 11:43 PM
Not usually. My guess is that your reversed clip is attempting to grab a frame from frame 0, and this is why it won't render with a range of 1-130

If you set your source clip to extend the last frame (which will be your first frame) by one, it will probably also work.

Time speed and time stretcher both need the global ranges to encompass all the frames used in the flow.

for example if i had a clip that was 1000 frames long, and i set up a timespeed to be 10x as fast that is 100 frames. However, if I set my global ranges to just 0-100 i would only be able to render 10 frames, as it's not able to look "past" frame 100 of the source clip.

Hope it all makes sense.

02-18-2004, 03:55 AM

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 11:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.