Lost Adventurer, Aleks Kirilenko (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Only shadows

01-26-2004, 10:04 AM
Hi dudes!, I'm trying to get the render (in Renderman) of a shadow for later compose it. I know in Maya there's "use background" that alows you to render the shadow on an object, but not the object. any help??


Andrew W
01-26-2004, 11:04 AM
You can use the shader I wrote to gather the ambient occlusion from depthmaps. Provided you use a light that outputs the "_inShadow" call then it will work. It also should only include cast shadow, rather than merely an absence of light.

Hope that helps.


PS Just remember to get rid of the lightdome! It's the occ_dmap shader by the way.

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.