View Full Version : Painter 6 memory problem


tayete
01 January 2004, 02:24 PM
I have decided to reinstall my old Painter 6, and I am quite surprised to find that I cannot run it because a message says "Not enough free memory to run Painter". Well, having 2Gbs of RAM surely would allow me to run it (when I had 256Mb I could), as Painter 8 allows me right now.

Does anyone know a solution for this problem? I am using a PIV 2.6Mhz, 2Gb RAM, and Windows XP Pro.

Thanks a lot!

tayete
01 January 2004, 08:51 AM
Nah, forget it...
...I hadn't updated Painter 6 to 6.1

Yumen
01 January 2004, 09:29 PM
I think painter6 is much better than painter8:)
painter7 is good too!

tayete
01 January 2004, 07:40 AM
I returned to it because I've noticed that I tend to stick to a few brushes and options, so right now I don't need all the bells and whistles of P8 (but I must admit I miss the mixer...)

MRAY
01 January 2004, 10:58 PM
so any update on the painter memory problem?

i'm getting the same error with 1 gig of ram.

thanks

Oops i didn't see you had updated it to 6.1.

so i take it that worked (updating to 6.1)?

MRAY
01 January 2004, 11:28 PM
where could i get an update for painter 6 to 6.1?


Thanks!

catnip
01 January 2004, 03:02 AM
MRAY, it's at ftp://ftp.corel.com/pub/Painter/6.1/pc/.

HTH!

MRAY
01 January 2004, 04:26 AM
well got the update and installed it and i still can't run it.
(Thanks tayete!)

i keep getting the old "not enough free memory deal".

any ideas what i should do?


thanks!

tayete
01 January 2004, 05:52 AM
To me it worked in the same moment I used the patch. Trying changing the compatibility of Painter 6.1 to Win 98 or Win 95 (you know, right click the program, choose "Properties" and "Compatibility")...

catnip
01 January 2004, 12:22 AM
Try setting Windows' virtual memory to less than 1024 MB maximum. I set mine to 900 MB minimum and 1000 MB max, and I could run Painter 6.0 fine.

I think this happens because older versions of Painter don't recognize more than 512 MB RAM.

catnip
01 January 2004, 12:23 AM
BTW, I'm running Win XP Pro with 1 GB RAM.

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1