View Full Version : quads or triangles for games?


m.h
12 December 2003, 05:06 PM
Hi guys,
I'm working on my portfolio for a job as a game artist right now so I'm wondering if for example an game artist is told to model a character in 2500 polys, should he model it in quads or triangles?

Thx.

Beaneh
12 December 2003, 05:31 PM
triangles...

Pezz3D
12 December 2003, 06:26 PM
triangles, definately.

samgrice
12 December 2003, 06:32 PM
you can model however the hell you like, just as long as the finished model's count is in tri's. in max this is edit mesh, but in maya and others you have to trianglate the model.

i model in MAX and i model/edit in editable poly and then convert to mesh for smoothing (groups) at the end.

i'm not sure if thata the best way to do it, but it works for me.

hope that helps.

m.h
12 December 2003, 06:33 PM
ok. thanks alot. I thought so :)

Prs-Phil
12 December 2003, 06:46 PM
tries, in what ever way you model or export, games can only process tries.

@samgrice

You might want to work in "Edit Mesh" mode, you have way more control over your mesh and you have the allmighty tool ... "Turn"

mgm
12 December 2003, 07:27 PM
Originally posted by Prs-Phil
tries, in what ever way you model or export, games can only process tries.

@samgrice

You might want to work in "Edit Mesh" mode, you have way more control over your mesh and you have the allmighty tool ... "Turn" well, I couldn't model any longer without all the "edit poly" tools like connect, chamfer and so on...

samgrice
12 December 2003, 08:24 PM
yeah same here, editing in edit mesh is a complete bitch and you can "retriangleate" the polys anyway in edit poly. i only convert to edit mesh when the modellings finidhed and its time to sort out the smoothing before texturing. plus the correct count.

EricChadwick
12 December 2003, 04:25 PM
Check out this script... don't have to leave EP to check the tri count...
http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~polycount/ubb/Forum2/HTML/007372.html

A simpler version is Roger Hyde's TriCounter...
http://www.scriptspot.com/rhyde/

cris castro
12 December 2003, 06:01 PM
1 quad = 2 tris

Neil
12 December 2003, 08:08 PM
Someone please show him how to do the 'search' function.

Dargon
12 December 2003, 08:26 PM
For some good disscussion on this see here (http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=99971)

m.h
12 December 2003, 09:54 AM
Neil. Sorry if I upsetted you. You are absolutely right. No need to be sarcastig though....

Actually, I think I did try the search funktion before I posted this, but for some reason I didn't come up with any satisfying answers.

Good thread Dargon btw. thx.

roosterjm2002
12 December 2003, 05:51 AM
m.h. ... just ignore neil and his like....they have nothing more important in their lives than visiting forums and have no common courtesy to extend to new guests.

Multimediaman
12 December 2003, 02:31 PM
Originally posted by posm
Check out this script... don't have to leave EP to check the tri count...
http://dynamic.gamespy.com/~polycount/ubb/Forum2/HTML/007372.html

A simpler version is Roger Hyde's TriCounter...
http://www.scriptspot.com/rhyde/

why resort to downloading scripts for that? ... erm... well, I guess I'm assuming that the people talking in this thread are using 3dsmax since you all are mentioning editable polys... but when you render, it tells you the face count, which is in all tris, no plugin needed :D

Dargon
12 December 2003, 03:09 PM
Originally posted by Multimediaman
why resort to downloading scripts for that? ... erm... well, I guess I'm assuming that the people talking in this thread are using 3dsmax since you all are mentioning editable polys... but when you render, it tells you the face count, which is in all tris, no plugin needed :D

If you check the thread I already plugged up above, there seems to be some complication in 3DSMax around the issue of the poly count, and that in different places, you get different numbers. The idea is to find a place you can look that will give you accurate figures.

I'll leave that to others, since Maya's my package, and I just use the bonus game triangle HUD when poly-modeling.

EricChadwick
12 December 2003, 03:42 PM
Originally posted by Multimediaman
when you render, it tells you the face count, which is in all tris, no plugin needed :D

A script gives me immediate feedback as I work, without having to jump through any hoops, like rendering or converting or whatever.

How are you using Render to check triangle count?

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 01:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1