XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Render farm - help needed

01-16-2013, 06:51 PM
Hi everyone!

I've got 3 computers with which I wanna make a render farm, with a budget of about 600 bucks. I've read that it is ok to start your render farm with 2 or 3 computers. I don't know where to start, and/or what to buy. I'm a newbie when it comes to pc assembling so I'm looking for advice and pointers... any help appreciated.

Here are the specs of the 3 computers:

1) HP Pavillion notebook pc

Processor: intel core i5-2410m cpu @ 2.30 ghz

RAM: 4 gb

64 bits

Windows 7 home premium

2) Dell XPS

Processor: intel core 2 duo e8500 @ 3.16 ghz

RAM:3 gb

32 bits

Windows 7 professional

3) Dell studio 540

Processor: intel pentium dual core e5300 @ 2.6 ghz

RAM: 2 gb

Windows vista

The XPS would be the one where I do the modelling. I do architectural renders so they're big and detailed. As of now I'm using sketchup with twilight render. I don't think 3 pcs are enough to render videos so I'm limited to pics only.

Thanks in advance.

01-28-2013, 02:32 PM
Since you didn't ask any specific questions:

Buy a switch (1 gbit) // 10 - 30$
Buy 3 CAT5e patch cords // 10 $

Build a Local Arena network with your computers. Voila you have renderfarm.

01-28-2013, 02:50 PM
i'm not familiar with either product.. but doing a quick search yielded nothing related to twilight renderer and farm capability...

you may want to check with them about it... or perhaps someone here knows for sure.

01-28-2013, 04:21 PM
what software is being used to render? do you need extra licenses?

CGTalk Moderation
01-28-2013, 04:21 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.