View Full Version : Render farm - help needed


Pixbae
01 January 2013, 06:51 PM
Hi everyone!



I've got 3 computers with which I wanna make a render farm, with a budget of about 600 bucks. I've read that it is ok to start your render farm with 2 or 3 computers. I don't know where to start, and/or what to buy. I'm a newbie when it comes to pc assembling so I'm looking for advice and pointers... any help appreciated.



Here are the specs of the 3 computers:



1) HP Pavillion notebook pc

Processor: intel core i5-2410m cpu @ 2.30 ghz

RAM: 4 gb

64 bits

Windows 7 home premium



2) Dell XPS

Processor: intel core 2 duo e8500 @ 3.16 ghz

RAM:3 gb

32 bits

Windows 7 professional



3) Dell studio 540

Processor: intel pentium dual core e5300 @ 2.6 ghz

RAM: 2 gb

Windows vista



The XPS would be the one where I do the modelling. I do architectural renders so they're big and detailed. As of now I'm using sketchup with twilight render. I don't think 3 pcs are enough to render videos so I'm limited to pics only.



Thanks in advance.

lehmi
01 January 2013, 02:32 PM
Since you didn't ask any specific questions:


Buy a switch (1 gbit) // 10 - 30$
Buy 3 CAT5e patch cords // 10 $

Build a Local Arena network with your computers. Voila you have renderfarm.

tswalk
01 January 2013, 02:50 PM
i'm not familiar with either product.. but doing a quick search yielded nothing related to twilight renderer and farm capability...

you may want to check with them about it... or perhaps someone here knows for sure.

sentry66
01 January 2013, 04:21 PM
what software is being used to render? do you need extra licenses?

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2013, 04:21 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1