View Full Version : Creating node with phyton


anna1
09 September 2012, 08:57 AM
Hey,

I am currently trying to put a Xpresso tag on an object and then creating a node of the object with x,y and z position output. I figured out how to create the tag, put it on my controller and create the node. But I am not really getting how to add the port. I looked it up in the SDK and I also found some examples, but it is not really working. The port ist simply not appearing.

This is my code:

xp_tag = c4d.BaseTag(c4d.Texpresso)
nodemaster = xp_tag.CreateNodeMaster()
node1 = nodemaster.CreateNode(nodemaster.GetRoot(), c4d.ID_OPERATOR_OBJECT, None,100,100)

until here everything is working fine. Then I read, that I have to use the DescID to get my position x:

pos_x = c4d.DescID(c4d.DescLevel(c4d.ID_BASEOBJECT_ABS_POSITION), c4d.DescLevel(c4d.VECTOR_X)

and then adding the port:

node1.AddPort(c4d.GV_PORT_OUTPUT, pos_x)

I am not getting any error message but the port does not appear either. Do I maybe have to add a flag? I tried it, but could not make it work. So if anyone of you could help me, it would be great and thank you so much

Anna

Scott Ayers
09 September 2012, 05:07 PM
Give this a try: import c4d
def main():
cube = c4d.BaseObject(c4d.Ocube) #Create a cube in memory only
doc.InsertObject(cube) #Add it to the OM from memory
xtag = c4d.BaseTag(c4d.Texpresso) #Create an xpresso tag in memory only
cube.InsertTag(xtag) #Add it to the cube from memory

xtag.SetBit(c4d.BIT_ACTIVE) #Make the xpresso tag active

#Create a nodemaster object
nm = doc.GetActiveTag().GetNodeMaster()

#Create the object's position node
objnode = nm.CreateNode(nm.GetRoot(), c4d.ID_OPERATOR_OBJECT,insert=None, x=200, y=200)
outport = objnode.AddPort(c4d.GV_PORT_OUTPUT, (c4d.ID_BASEOBJECT_REL_POSITION, c4d.VECTOR_X))

#Create a result node and then get it's first input port
resultnode = nm.CreateNode(nm.GetRoot(), c4d.ID_OPERATOR_RESULT,insert=None, x=300, y=200)
inport = resultnode.GetInPort(0)


#Connect the objnode's output port to the resultnode's input port
outport.Connect(inport)

c4d.EventAdd()

if __name__=='__main__':
main()

-ScottA

anna1
09 September 2012, 02:01 PM
thank you so much for your help. It helpd me a lot and I am understanding it now so much better and could do a lot more coding :-)

I am still having a last question, is there some way to freeze the transformation of the position?

Anna

Scott Ayers
09 September 2012, 03:52 PM
c4d.CallCommand(1023335) #Freeze all transforms

If you want to execute the individual buttons in the freeze pallet.
This is an example of how to execute those buttons: import c4d
def main():

obj = doc.GetActiveObject()
obj.SetFrozenPos(c4d.Vector(0,0,0)) #Sets the freeze value fields if desired

c4d.CallButton(obj,c4d.ID_BASEOBJECT_FREEZE) #Executes the Freeze All button
c4d.CallButton(obj,c4d.ID_BASEOBJECT_FREEZE_P) #Executes the Freeze P button
c4d.CallButton(obj,c4d.ID_BASEOBJECT_FREEZE_S) #Executes the Freeze S button
c4d.CallButton(obj,c4d.ID_BASEOBJECT_FREEZE_R) #Executes the Freeze R button

c4d.CallButton(obj,c4d.ID_BASEOBJECT_FROZEN_RESET) #Executes the Unfreeze All Button

obj.Message(c4d.MSG_UPDATE)
c4d.EventAdd()

if __name__=='__main__':
main()

-ScottA

anna1
10 October 2012, 03:20 PM
thanks a lot, it is now working completely :bounce:

CGTalk Moderation
10 October 2012, 03:20 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1