Lost Adventurer, Aleks Kirilenko (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Dual Socket Workstation build

06-15-2012, 07:28 AM
I'm thinking about building a workstation for Maya/3ds. Primarily for rendering. I've built several computers in the past but never one with dual sockets.

Dual Xeon E5-2620

ATI FirePro V4800 (debatable, could change to an equivalent nvidia) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814195096

Dell U2711

12 Gb Crucial RAM

As for the motherboard, I'm still a bit unsure about. I like the specs on this one:
EVGA Classified SR-X 270-SE-W888-KR

I like that it has USB 3.0, most other boards dont seem to have it for some reason, maybe i'm just not searching deep enough. My only problem is the price, $650 is a bit high for my liking. Does anyone know of a cheaper board that has usb 3.0?

Also, I was thinking of salvaging the 850 watt psu from my current machine, will that be enough juice for this setup?

06-15-2012, 02:40 PM
IMO it doesnt make much sense to build a dual with such slow (and non overclockable) cpus. Consider that a 3930k cpu on an Asus P9X79 overclocked to 4.5ghz will dish out 27ghz versus 24ghz for the dual 2620, and will cost over 500$ less. Even more important, it will also be over twice as fast in single threaded applications.

06-15-2012, 04:18 PM
lots of boards have USB 3 now

I'd also recommend a 3930k overclocked, unless you really need the xeon's lower latency for juggling multiple tasks at the same time and needing the system to stay more responsive

06-15-2012, 04:58 PM
I've never had much luck with overclocking. I tried to OC my i7-920 up from 2.67 to just 3, and would always fail.

06-15-2012, 05:26 PM
Hmmm, the more I think about the 3930K, the more appealing it becomes.

Faster total clock speed
Faster single threaded tasks
less unknowns about RAM configurations and support
oh and cheaper

Im finding tons of OC guides for the 3930K, So I think I'll try my hand at that again.
Thank you all.

06-15-2012, 06:25 PM
be sure to get a board that's specifically made for overclocking. You can either use the boards software for auto overclocking, or you can get better results usually be manually doing it. There's plenty of websites of people posting general starting BIOS settings that should work for everyone.

The K series is really easy to overclock with the unlocked multiplier. Just be sure to get a decent heatsink CPU cooler and a case with good airflow.

The x79 platform can have up to 64 gigs of ram with 8 ram slots for boards that support it.
I personally am running an ASUS sabertooth x79 and it's been fantastic, though there's a lot of other really good boards out there that you can't go wrong with.

06-15-2012, 07:04 PM
I have a Thermaltake Frio

That thing is a beast

06-15-2012, 07:42 PM
Newegg has an open box Sabertooth for $225. I believe I found a winner.


One question about quad channel. I have 6x2gb Crucial DDR3 1333, what configuration do i need to put them in on this board since the DIMM slots are divided into groups of 4?

Would I just fill the grey slots first then fill the 2 black slots on the left? or just the first black slot on each group? Is that unclear?

06-15-2012, 09:14 PM
I'm not sure it really matters. Ether way you're going to be disabling the quad channel memory bandwidth for that channel - or maybe for both channels, I'm not sure.

$200-220 will get you 32 gigs of memory as a single quad-channel set

The Thermaltake Frio is decent. Among all the other coolers out today, I'm not sure I'd quite call it a beast, but it is a good cooler

06-15-2012, 09:53 PM
I see. I dont think i need 32 gb, but 16gb in a 4x4gb setup i could fit in my budget. I'll just put the cards i have now into my family's computers


Thank you Sentry66, you've been very helpful

This will be my most powerful build yet, how exciting!

06-15-2012, 10:20 PM
sounds like it's going to work out

glad to help

CGTalk Moderation
06-15-2012, 10:20 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.