LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Use Amazon EC2 to render

02-05-2012, 09:29 PM
Just wondering... is it possible to use Amazon EC2 cloud computing to render .blend files?

02-08-2012, 12:20 AM
I believe you can run instances of software on the platform so it should be very possible.

I'm not too sure of the set-up that occurs when running on hardware instances, does each virtual machine get tagged with it's own IP address?

If so you could try using the internal network rendering software to dish out work to slaves on the EC2 platform.

02-08-2012, 06:52 PM
If you find out more on this I'd be interested to know how it works. I could use a way to do external rendering with cycles and octane

02-12-2012, 05:53 PM
Actually I'm running an instance with Windows Server 2008 64bit (

It's a High-CPU Extra Large Instance:
7 GB of memory
20 EC2 Compute Units (8 virtual cores with 2.5 EC2 Compute Units each)
1690 GB of instance storage
64-bit platform

I've installed Blender 2.61, I copy my .blend file there and I render it.

I've tryed with a Linux (Ubuntu 11.10) machine, but I can't manage to have Blender working... I don't know why. But I don't think that the render time is gonna be a lot faster with Linux.

Btw, to have a time comparison. A render that took 40+ hours on my Sony Vaio (Intel i5 M540 2.53ghz, 6gb ram, GeForce 310M, Win 7 64 bit), on the EC2 instance is taking less than 6 hours.

02-12-2012, 05:55 PM
oh, and the same rendering on the free instance (less than 1gb ram, 1 core) was taking like 11 days... lol

02-14-2012, 05:21 AM
Thanks stepunk I think I'll have to give this a try.

02-14-2012, 05:38 PM
just rememeber to "stop" the instance from the amazon control panel when you're not using it. because you pay for each hour that it's on, it doesn't matter if you're using the cpu at 100% or it's just idle without any software running.

02-14-2012, 09:57 PM
There might be a fair bit of speedup on Linux,3121-19.html

Though I don't know how it applies to this configuration.

02-15-2012, 08:20 AM
Yeah, it's faster but not a lot.

Btw, on Amazon is cheaper to run a Linux instance instead of a Windows one. So if someone get Blender 2.61 to work on a Linux instance, please tell us hot he managed to do it! ;) Thanks!

When i tried I had Linux running properly, but Blender didn't start... I don't know why...

02-23-2012, 06:15 PM
I tried running blender in an ubuntu instance but i had no luck. Blender 2.62 wouldn't even start.

11-13-2012, 09:11 PM
Anyone found how to do it ?

11-14-2012, 11:05 AM

I'd like to know if anyone managed to have this working with Linux (for example Ubuntu).

Could you please share some information about what steps to do ? Is it just a matter of installing a distro, blender, render, all this steps from the Command Line ?

Please let me know,

Thanks for looking!

11-14-2012, 05:07 PM
Have you started it via the terminal?

Perhaps there are some missing libraries that Blender requires.

11-15-2012, 07:53 AM
Must be the libraries. We have 2.64 running on Fedora and Ubuntu for automated Rendicity EC2 renderfarms, including GPU clusters. Once you get the libraries in you should be fine.

CGTalk Moderation
11-15-2012, 07:53 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.