LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : studio lighting - help

12-17-2011, 08:01 PM
Hello guys i've done simple apple logo for my wallpaper in iphone, and i've reach effect that i wanted , but there is some problem with shadow i think, as you can see on the right side of apple on the edge there's somthing wrong and i have no idea why i have this could someone help ? and im using mental ray. (

12-18-2011, 04:47 AM
Are you sure it isn't the normals or a geometry issue?

You can see that you are getting a little bit of the same effect along the top front edge of the apple as well, right below where the stem meets the body.

12-18-2011, 11:02 AM
could be, so what would you sugest ? how to fix it ?

12-18-2011, 11:34 AM
i've tried add uvw map modifier and increse sampling in render tab but still that problem appears. what to do ? :(

mr Bob
12-18-2011, 08:50 PM
Look at the normals of your geometry and make sure all your points are fused and there's no double faces.

12-19-2011, 02:38 PM
ok so i've just checked all vertex and everything is welded, i also tried add chamfer on those edges but still doesnt work :( anything else i could try ?

12-19-2011, 05:05 PM
make sure you're using quads only.

Could you post a wire version pls

12-19-2011, 09:50 PM
sure,here is wire look (

12-22-2011, 10:07 PM
so any more advice ?

12-24-2011, 12:45 AM
For a test you could make all edges hard, so no smoothed normals. Then you would see if it is a normal problem.

Are you using depth mapped shadows?

12-24-2011, 10:02 AM
ok good idea thanks, so im gonna turn off turbo smooth and check if that would help.

12-24-2011, 10:21 AM
Ah ok. No wonder that it fails. Missed that turbosmooth thing there. The mesh has not the best topology for smoothing.
On the flat surface you would need another loop that follows the profile of the apple to save the border during the smooth.

12-24-2011, 12:44 PM
i've just checked and without turbosmooth that problem still appears.
Im not quite sure what you mean, should i select faces and i dont know just try inset them ?
I tryied to replace that logo and put box insted of that but even on simple box i 've got that problem on the edges but it's bit smaller.

12-25-2011, 01:52 PM
What kind of shadows are you using? Shadow maps or raytraced shadows?

12-25-2011, 06:19 PM
Actually im using skylight and 3 mr sky portal, and shadow samples are 32.

12-25-2011, 09:56 PM
Try putting a smooth modifier before turbosmooth (with autosmooth enabled)

12-25-2011, 10:54 PM
that didn't help :( i've tried to do somthing with shadows for exampe increase shadow sample or even turn off shadows at all but nothing works.

12-26-2011, 12:41 AM
It looks more like a normal problem than a shadowproblem to me... your topology isnt the greatest for a meshsmooth/turbosmooth

12-26-2011, 10:51 AM
ok im gonna try rebuild the mesh

01-11-2012, 07:28 PM
Ok, i've changed render engine :), i used vray and that helped and solved problem and actually i reached a better effect :) so geometry was not a problem.

01-12-2012, 07:08 AM
I dont know but this happens when you are using a map in "round corner slot" in arch and design material. Remove it and you are good to go...

01-12-2012, 04:16 PM
Actually there wasn't any map in that slot so i dont think that was the problem.

CGTalk Moderation
01-12-2012, 04:16 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.