PDA

View Full Version : nuke 6.2 32 bit on mac pro 8 core 14gb ram crashing


gauranga108
08-04-2011, 03:51 AM
nuke 6.2 32 bit on mac pro 8 core 14gb ram osx 10.7.

I'm working on a nuke script that has one read node with 100 channels which are individual passes.

It's crashing a lot.

I've upped the cache memory to 80% which seemed to help a little but still crashing lots.

I know it's hard for someone else to trouble shot this scenario but maybe someone has some idea why it's crashing. I've been using nuke 6.2 for about a week and I haven't experienced this much crashing. The more complex the script the more crashing seems to be consistent. I like the channel workflow but maybe i'm pushing it to fair?

Before i had about 100 read nodes with tga seq in a script, definitely crashed less then this one read node will 100 channels. 50 read node scripts also crash less then 100 node scripts.

But I've seem some pros nuke scripts that are HUGE, so i know nuke can handle more then I'm throwing at it.

Maybe the osx 10.7 is at fault?

I'm using nuke 6.2 because I heard thats the one to use with 10.7 until nuke fixes some stuff.

I'm only using 1 frame exr file as a test.

should I break the scene into more exr read nodes do decrease the channel load on one node?

To many channels on one read node?

each channel has a merge2 node as well, so 100 merge2 nodes to many?

more ram?

less ram?

thanks

cgbeige
08-05-2011, 03:38 AM
ya, if you need 64-bit Nuke, you need to roll back to 10.6.8. I suspect you're running out of memory. Open Activity Monitor and see if the RAM hits 2.3 GB before crashing - if it does, you're hitting the 32-bit RAM ceiling

gauranga108
08-05-2011, 03:45 AM
You're right.

I went up to 6.3 64 bit and osx 10.6.8 and it's fine.

beaker
08-24-2011, 07:50 AM
Your just going to have to wait till Nuke supports Lion. Try not to upgrade production machines to the latest greatest operating systems till after software manufacturers have time to get everything working. Most people wait 6+ months before upgrading or till there have atleast been 2-3 bug fixes.

gauranga108
08-24-2011, 08:35 PM
yeah I'm realizing this is a good idea to not upgrade right away with most things from OS to Maya.

CGTalk Moderation
08-24-2011, 08:35 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.