PDA

View Full Version : Installing fonts in Photoshop


Russo
11-01-2003, 07:48 PM
hello there
anybody knows how to install fonts in photoshop? some fonts doesnīt appear and I need it.. :blush:

ZEROSKULL
11-01-2003, 09:14 PM
On Windows Go to start-> control panel -> fonts.. Drag and drop your desire font there.

Russo
11-01-2003, 09:33 PM
doesnīt work :(

Ian Jones
11-02-2003, 01:57 AM
You need to restart photoshop everytime you install a new font if you wish to use it. Photoshop loads the fonts when it loads itself.

Also, you may have far to many fonts installed to start with. This will not only slow PS down when loading but will also mean that at a certain point it won't load any more. In this case you need to investigate the use of a program such as suitcase or type manager. They let you manage fonts, turning them on and off for use.

Russo
11-02-2003, 05:07 PM
hi I have about 320 fonts installed, is not that much, the font is available in Word, but not in Photoshop, I donīt know exactly whatīs going on.. restarted PS a thousand times.. I can send the font by mail if anybody wants to test it

thanks

singularity2006
11-02-2003, 06:38 PM
I've noticed that same problem. The way I corrected it was to use Adobe Type Manager. I guess Photoshop just doens't integrate w/ Window's built in font management system that well. :shrug:

Russo
11-03-2003, 05:18 AM
hum.. thanks :)

b0nny
11-03-2003, 10:46 AM
I've had the same problem at home to.. but in my case i do not have to restart ps to get them to work i just have to open my fonts folder after i have put the fonts there.. Its like windows need to refresh the fonts list... After that it always works for me.. hope you understand what i mean..

Russo
11-03-2003, 05:15 PM
sure, thank you :thumbsup:

Stroker
11-03-2003, 05:19 PM
The best way is to actually install the font - not just drag-n-drop.

Have your new fonts in a seperate folder.
While exploring the font folder, use File > Install New Font.
Find the fonts you want and tell it to move the fonts to your font folder.

jbw
11-04-2003, 10:44 AM
You tried holding down shift when you click the type tool?
I seem to recall in previous versions (I don't have this issue with PS7) this forces PS to check for updates to the fonts.

ta,
jbw

wolver1ne
11-04-2003, 10:59 AM
Originally posted by Ian Jones
You need to restart photoshop everytime you install a new font if you wish to use it. Photoshop loads the fonts when it loads itself.

Restarting Photoshop isn't needed at all. Simply select Type Tool and wait for fonts to refresh. It only does this when new fonts have been installed.

Russo
11-04-2003, 05:12 PM
new tips! :) thank you all :beer:

Ian Jones
11-05-2003, 01:49 AM
Hey... well it must be a newish thing then. I know that in 5.5 you needed to restart.

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 02:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.