PDA

View Full Version : Obtaining a job as a MEL Scripter...

Boone
11-01-2003, 06:44 PM
Please excuse my curiousity...

I'm considering obtaining a job as a MEL Scripter/Programmer.

I have been programming in C/C++ for 3-4 years now. MEL Scripting - 2 weeks.

I find MEL rather easy to learn and make simple short-cuts. They pretty much save time having to go through menus. I'm at that level with MEL & Maya.

I asume this is childs play, and to get a job programming MEL, one needs to make and present a more advanced tool in MEL.

What kind of tool would you recommend I make to stand a good chance of getting a position of MEL Programmer?

Thank you all for your time.

dwalden74
11-01-2003, 08:03 PM
Well, I think the fact that you have a solid knowledge of higher-level programming (C and C++) is a huge advantage. For people who are only going to be handling programming-related issues on productions, I think knowledge of MEL alone is not enough (although Im sure there are exceptions to this). Most of the jobs that Ive see that require MEL knowledge also require knowledge of other languages as well (Perl, C++, etc). And if you have the competence to program in C++, its probably a given that you can handle MEL no problem (I can, and Im not even a programmer). Having some quality scripts to show in your MEL portfolio, however, is probably also a good idea.

So, what kind of scripts should you do? I have no idea. What kinds of things are you interested in doing? Just take it from there.

zachgrachan
11-01-2003, 09:06 PM
I like to hang about forums like this one and grab any requests I find. People often ask for a tool that does such and such, so make it for them! Sometimes though, it's me saying, "why is there no tool for..."

Don't look for THE THING to get you a job, look for A THING (ANY thing really). Cuz every job is different, as is every employer.

But I am in the same spot as you, so maybe I'm wrong and there is one tool that would garauntee a job :shrug: