PDA

View Full Version : Advice: buying (or building) a computer for Mudbox

ScottMichaelH
08-01-2011, 07:20 PM
I need a PC system that will run Autodesk Mudbox. I've had a bad string of old PCs shutting down on me and need to buy one new and strong. I have had little issues getting 3ds Max to run on anything really but Mudbox at best on my last system simply would load a mesh as a big black object with no light on it and the camera would take several seconds to move at all.

1) Would this be a good investment:
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/HP+-+Pavilion+Desktop+/+AMD+Athlon%26%23153%3B+II+Quad-Core+Processor+/+6GB+Memory+/+1TB+Hard+Drive/2670319.p?id=1218343206257&skuId=2670319

2) or do you think building it would be the only way? i would need help for sure as I am a noob at hardware. I hear that most PCs now have integrated video. Is that an issue?

thanks

comfortk
08-01-2011, 07:55 PM
Not knowing too much about how mudbox interacts with hardware, it sounds as if it's your video card that's giving it trouble. Try going to the autodesk website and see what card is compatible with mudbox then base your computer buy around that

Dreamcube017
08-01-2011, 08:02 PM
Hm this really should go in the technical thread... but since I'm here I suppose I can answer your question or try anyway.

While this would be ok, I suggest getting an external graphics card as they are often a bit more powerful than the integrated cards and have their own ram. (You can get these seperatly.)

I prefer cards from NVIDIA so either the newer GeForce cards (500 series) or the newer quadros cards... I'm not sure what the new numbers are on those though.

This may be just me being a fanboy, but I hear Intel's a bit better than AMD although I suppose AMD's not too bad.

How old is the computer you were using? That computer is ok, but it's not the best one.