PDA

View Full Version : FG phase - fast, rendering phase - eternity

living3d
07-29-2011, 08:01 PM
Hello,
As you can see from post name I have a huge rendering time. I'm rather new to interior rendering and very upset with my results.

Here is a little test of that scene.

http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/6103/cam1test3.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/263/cam1test3.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

To light the scene i used Sun&Sky with portal light. All artificial lights are wom_archilights and objectlights. As I'm new to this great wom shaders I thought the problem is there. Rendering is much faster if I hide those lights but still very long...
I render through command line and result is frustrating: FG phase just 13 min, 12 % rendering phase took 6 hours! And this just one FG bounce... :sad:

Here are settings from the scene:
Image resolution - 1200x800
AA: min - 0, max - 2. Contrast - 0,1, Mitchell filtering 4.
Reflection rays - 7, refraction 7, trace depth - 14.
Shadow mode: simple
Primary renderer: scanline
Fg settings: rays - 40, point density - 0,6, interpolation - 40.
Almost all mia materials has glossy reflection and AO with colorbleed.

I switched to Regular BSP and optimized it.
Also was trying to use different memory limit settings, optimizing scene, render in layers, importing into a knew scene with no luck.
System specs: Maya 2012 64bit under Windows 7, Core i5 2.67GHz, 8 GB of RAM.

Is that normal on my system or am I missing something? Thanks for any help.

kiryha
07-29-2011, 08:49 PM
Not sure about rendering time, may be its normal for arch viz, and i never use worm stuff.
But you settings seems to be pretty low. What is raytrace settings(reflect-refract rays) and how many glossy sample you have for each material? AO with colorbleed also make render longer.

living3d
07-29-2011, 09:14 PM
Not sure about rendering time, may be its normal for arch viz...