PDA

View Full Version : Rendering Large Images using Render Tile


gundz
07-29-2011, 04:32 PM
Hi, I'm new to this forum and need some urgent help!

Does anyone know how to render out really large single frame images in Maya 2010? I'm sure it's called something like Render Tile. This renders the frame into lots of segments which can be stuck back together in Photoshop. The image I need to render is about 2m x 2m at 300 dpi poster.
I have rendered images at 13000x13000px before with normal batch render, but I think the scene I'm working on now is going to cause issues as it's quite complicated with a large amount of polygons. I'm trying to render using Maya Software and raytracing.

I have seen a few people talking about using Mel script to achieve the render tile, but I just can't seem to get it to work. e.g.

render -r mr -reg 1 1499 1 999 -im part1 F:\My-docs\maya\projects\QQR\scenes\Warehouse\scene.mb
render -r mr -reg 1500 2999 1 999 -im part2 F:\My-docs\maya\projects\QQR\scenes\Warehouse\scene.mb
render -r mr -reg 1 1499 1000 1999 -im part2 F:\My-docs\maya\projects\QQR\scenes\Warehouse\scene.mb
render -r mr -reg 1500 2999 1000 1999 -im part2 F:\My-docs\maya\projects\QQR\scenes\Warehouse\scene.mb

I get the following error when running this in Script Editor:

// Error: render -r mr -reg 1 1499 1 999 -im part1 F:\My-docs\maya\projects\QQR\scenes\Warehouse\scene.mb
//
// Error: Syntax error //

Can someone explain step by step exactly how to do this. I haven't used Mel script before, so I'm not even sure I'm placing the script in the correct location!

Many thanks.

Dan

anthonymcgrath
08-02-2011, 02:41 PM
here's a line from my own very large render (A1 poster size)...

firstly setup maya to look at your project folder with the file-->project-->set options. This saves you having to faff on writing the full blinking path in each line :)


i rendered out my image in 9 chunks to make up my poster. The renderer starts from the bottom left pixel and works right and upwards. below are some lines for my own A1 render...

//bottom left to top left render chunks... you can see the numbers i edited in my
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 0 2000 0 2000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 0 2000 2001 4000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 0 2000 4001 6000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 0 2000 6001 9000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb

//bottom middle to top middle chunks...
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 2001 4000 0 2000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 2001 4000 2001 4000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 2001 4000 4001 6000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 2001 4000 6001 9000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb

//bottom right to top right...
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 4001 7000 0 2000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 4001 7000 2001 4000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 4001 7000 4001 6000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb
render -r -mr -x 7000 -y 9000 -reg 4001 7000 60019000 -rd d:\temp\ -im section01 poster_design01.mb


only thing i can think of is your not telling it where to render to maybe with the -rd flag? In my case I just stuck a temp folder on my D drive and pointed the files there :) batted out the park first time

let me know how you go :thumbsup:

gundz
08-02-2011, 03:07 PM
Hi anthonymcgrath,
Thank you for your reply. Do I run this in the script editor? When I did I got the following error:

http://www.flamingoat.co.uk/scene-error.jpg

CGTalk Moderation
08-02-2011, 03:07 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.