PDA

View Full Version : Volume Light doesn't render under 2012?


KentYang
07-26-2011, 04:35 AM
Hi, I am using Maya2012, 64 bit under Win7
When I create a simple scene, and put a default volume light above a simple poly plane, then hit "Render", nothing shows in render view. However, when I switch to mental ray, it works!

I reset my render and light setting to default, but it doesn't help.

Why? I test it under Maya2010 and 2011, volume light rendered fine under Maya software render. Is it a bug in Maya2012?
Please, does anybody know why?

Thanks!

Jozvex
07-26-2011, 09:53 AM
You're right, it's totally broken! :scream:

If you add other lights you'll see that it just renders a black cube in the shape of the bounding box.

KentYang
07-26-2011, 10:26 AM
I test it on different computers,too. Volume Light are still not rendering under 2012. Does it happen to everybody? or just me??

Ash-Man
07-26-2011, 07:54 PM
it should work with mr
busted in sw

dariushd
06-08-2012, 05:42 AM
They work well in mr, but not in sw. Anyone have them working in 32bit Windows or OSX?

;-)

CGTalk Moderation
06-08-2012, 05:43 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.