PDA

View Full Version : vRay RT - GPU rendering


G.H.O.S.T
07-16-2011, 07:11 PM
Hey guys,
I'm wondering if there is a way to use GPU to render maya scene with vRay RT.
I've activated Engine Type - OpenCL(single kernel) but it still use the CPU.
In output window I get this error:
[2011/Jul/16|20:02:08] V-Ray: Preparing renderer...
[2011/Jul/16|20:02:08] V-Ray: Preparing scene for rendering...
[2011/Jul/16|20:02:08] V-Ray: OpenCL renderer requested.
[2011/Jul/16|20:02:08] V-Ray warning: No scene found; cannot create OpenCL renderer plugin.
[2011/Jul/16|20:02:08] V-Ray: dr host: 127.0.0.1
[2011/Jul/16|20:02:08] V-Ray: Connected to render host 127.0.0.1
[2011/Jul/16|20:02:08] V-Ray: Using 1 hosts for distributed rendering.
My video card is : nVidia Quadro FX 4600 with openCL and CUDA capable.
I have installed latest drivers.

Hamburger
07-18-2011, 01:50 AM
Might want to ttry an environment variable.

http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/maya/150R1/env_vars.htm

VRAY_OPENCL_DEVICES (standalone) - a comma-separated list of the devices to use for OpenCL rendering with V-Ray RT. Each device is identified by a zero-based index; the V-Ray RT render server will normally print a list of all available OpenCL devices together with their indices.

G.H.O.S.T
07-18-2011, 08:27 AM
Might want to ttry an environment variable.

http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/maya/150R1/env_vars.htm

VRAY_OPENCL_DEVICES (standalone) - a comma-separated list of the devices to use for OpenCL rendering with V-Ray RT. Each device is identified by a zero-based index; the V-Ray RT render server will normally print a list of all available OpenCL devices together with their indices.

Yes! Thank you very much. It was an environment variable. Now it works perfectly, though 768 MB of memory isn't enough.

LeeSouder
09-05-2011, 02:57 AM
I am having the same problem, but I have no idea what to do with "VRAY_OPENCL_DEVICES". Can you explain this in noob terms please?

Thanks.

G.H.O.S.T
09-07-2011, 09:09 AM
Hi,
Try to create environment variable in your system(windows OS) .
Variable Name = VRAY_OPENCL_DEVICES
Variable value = 0 (this is for my machine)

CGTalk Moderation
09-07-2011, 09:09 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.