PDA

View Full Version : render scene dialog - output size presets ?


skunk184
07-16-2011, 09:49 AM
Hey all,

I've been searching for hours, but can't seem to find any info on how to access render scene dialog>output size presets. Is there any way to get at these via maxscript?

cheers,

Craig

lucpet
07-16-2011, 12:40 PM
A script I've been playing with recently has tackled this
eg
case rdoSize.state of
(
1: [renderWidth = 1920, renderHeight = 1080]
2: [renderWidth = 1280, renderHeight = 720]
3: [renderWidth = 720, renderHeight = 576]
4: [renderWidth = 240, renderHeight = 192]
)

I had to set each size as I didn't find the presets. But that's not to say it wasn't there I
just gave up after finding "an" answer.
In the code above I placed it in radio buttons as I didn't need a lot of settings, I just used pal and HD
Hope this helps
Good luck

skunk184
07-16-2011, 02:47 PM
thanks Luke,

I was thinking I may have to do something like this but seems a little strange there is no command with an integer switch for this(atleast I cant find it). It makes me wonder where max is calling this from.

thanks again for your suggestion,

Craig

lo
07-16-2011, 10:27 PM
It's calling it from 3dsmax.ini

you can use standard setIniSetting command to change it:

[PresetOutputSize0]
PresetWidth=320
PresetHeight=240
PresetAspect=1.000000
[PresetOutputSize1]
PresetWidth=256
PresetHeight=243
PresetAspect=1.265625
[PresetOutputSize2]
PresetWidth=512
PresetHeight=486
PresetAspect=1.265625
[PresetOutputSize3]
PresetWidth=640
PresetHeight=480
PresetAspect=1.000000
[PresetOutputSize4]
PresetWidth=720
PresetHeight=486
PresetAspect=0.900000
[PresetOutputSize5]
PresetWidth=800
PresetHeight=600
PresetAspect=1.000000

lucpet
07-17-2011, 12:22 AM
It's calling it from 3dsmax.ini

you can use standard setIniSetting command to change it:



Thanks lo
It never even occurred to me to look there.
I don't suppose you could share some code on how to access it and put it back into a dropdownlist, it would help me greatly with another project I'm working on.

lo
07-17-2011, 06:53 AM
this will return the 6 presets as point3 values consisting of width, height, and pixel aspect ratio.

fn getSizePresets =
(
local f = getMAXIniFile()
local headerStr = "PresetOutputSize"
local presetWidthStr = "PresetWidth"
local presetHeightStr = "PresetHeight"
local presetAspectStr = "PresetAspect"
local sizes = for i = 0 to 5 collect
(
local header = headerStr+(i as string)
local width = getIniSetting f header presetWidthStr
local height = getIniSetting f header presetHeightStr
local aspect = getIniSetting f header presetAspectStr
[width as integer,height as integer,aspect as float]
)
)

lucpet
07-17-2011, 09:51 AM
Thanks lo
An old Aussie saying "Your bloods worth bottling"

denisT
07-17-2011, 10:04 AM
Thanks lo
An old Aussie saying "Your bloods worth bottling"
for any not Australian as me for an easier reading: :)
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=aussie
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=your%20blood%27s%20worth%20bottling

lucpet
07-17-2011, 10:12 AM
hahaha well done denisT

CGTalk Moderation
07-17-2011, 10:12 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.