PDA

View Full Version : How to setup 3d objects in Maya in order to make a render image for 2d image?


ogiejao
07-15-2011, 08:57 AM
Hi. Now I am trying to draw a picture which is based on 2 point perspective grid like this.
http://forums.cgsociety.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=162881&stc=1

And I warped tiling textures in Photoshop like this.
http://forums.cgsociety.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=162882&stc=1

But it made this ugly seam.
http://forums.cgsociety.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=162884&stc=1

I want to avoid this seam, but it seems hard to erase this seam in Photoshop, so I am trying to render an image which has no seam using Maya.
I made a object that has 3 faces and is applied with surface shader and a tiling texture, which is used in 2nd and 3rd pictures..
At this point, I am at a loss.I want to make a render image that fits with a perspective grid of my first attached picture. It means I want to render an image like my 2nd picture with no seams.
I edited render camera setting and used image plane and etc, but all went wrong and didn't work well. If you were me what would you do to get a desirable render image?
Give me your advice what I should do next.
Thank you in advance.

ogiejao
07-15-2011, 09:00 AM
This is the object I made in Maya.
http://forums.cgsociety.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=162885&stc=1

Sebastianf
07-22-2011, 06:29 AM
Lining up a camera will always take a while without the camera data and since you set this up in photoshop there is room for error.
1: Set your render settings to what your image is.
2: Create a camera
3: Id suggest as you tried before putting your image on an image plane attached to you camera under the environments tab for your camera.
4: Set you fit to resoloution gate.
5: Adjust the depth of the image plane incase it is clipping through the geometry
6: You will now need to move and play with your cameras focal length. By default its at 35mm you may need to go lower to get more perspective.
7: You can also move the vertices for your tiled object back to match you image it didnt look deep enough in the image you posted.
8: once its lined up you may need to adjust your UVS again (to fix any distortion) and play around with the tiling of your texture so you get more boxes for your grid.
9: Id suggest you use a surface shader for the texture on your grid so you dont get any lighting/shadowing on it. And turning the visibility of your image plane to none so it doesnt show up behind your grid.

I didnt do this while I was writing it so may have missed some parts.. let me know if you get stuck.

anothe roption could be to distort your model of the grid to match the photoshop image you will want to make sure the tiling of the grid is how you want it before you move any vertices though.

CGTalk Moderation
07-22-2011, 06:30 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.