PDA

View Full Version : Mix Materials Tutorials?

insertmesh
07-09-2011, 01:41 PM
Hi, im a beginner moving on from modeling to texturing aninteriorscene.
Since its my best friends loft im using as a reference, i got pretty good reference material, but also i wanna learn to give it a "used" look, so i need a couple of good tutorials on mixed materials and where to put what map...someone got some tips for me?

Couple of examples im trying to recreate:

-brushed metal surface with grease stains (fingerprints etc.)
-vitroceramic plate (not sure about that translation...) with painted features and grease stains
-Parquetfloor with scratches

Im already cruising through the manual, but that mostly just covers the basics. id like some in depth looks at what map can be used for what and how to build those maps.

any help appreciated!

scrimski
07-09-2011, 03:14 PM
http://www.3dtotal.com/pages/tutorials/tutorialsmax_text1.php
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=46&t=373024&

insertmesh
07-09-2011, 04:04 PM
thx scrimski...;)

thats a good starting point, but one problem i already encountered: the only way a map shows up on my metal-material is to put it in the slot for "additional color". but there it blends out the reflections completely. if i put it in the diffuse slot, it doesnt show up at all.
How do i solve that? im using an Arch&Design template as a base.

insertmesh
07-09-2011, 04:14 PM
i just tried to put the arch&design material in a composite-material as a base material, so i could layer the grease/stain material over it, but unfortanetely max crashed on my laptop while i tried this, so im not sure that would work. since itll take a while til i get back on my desktop - am i on the right path though?

insertmesh
07-09-2011, 04:17 PM
hm, manual tells me to use composite maps instead. i really should start getting back into photoshop basics i think.

insertmesh
07-09-2011, 08:23 PM
nope, not yet getting there...