PDA

View Full Version : Which one is better for me "Nuke" or "Fusion" or "Toxik"

zelda64
07-07-2011, 01:36 AM
I use Maya.
I am thinking to learn a serious compositing package.
I'm a SFX and Rendere artist but need to learn serious post processing too.
I will combine passes and layers.

can you tell me which one is better : "Nuke" or "Fusion" or "Toxik"

Later on i may consider to buy one of the three.

Thank you.

pingking
07-07-2011, 11:37 AM
if you own maya toxik comes with it, its called maya composite

zelda64
07-08-2011, 01:51 AM
Thanks pingking .

But is Toxik as powerful as Nuke and Fusion ?

If not which is better : Nuke or Fusion ?

pingking
07-08-2011, 10:15 AM
threads about which is better are not allowed here

zelda64
07-09-2011, 01:10 AM
OK pingking

gauranga108
08-03-2011, 07:56 PM
I just spent two weeks learning Composite. It was ok for my 3d render passes cartoon compositing but it's not stable. Crashes left right and centre, I think it's free for a reason, sloppy program not meant for real world work IMO. Seems like an app made by non-compositors. Iff sequences are not the recommended format, tga or exr, no iff, iff is maya's format and composite doesn't like it as much as others, BS!

I just spent last week learning Nuke and it's more then stable it's teaching me what an image really is and how to manipulate it. It's definitely a Pro app. I already feel comfortable with it's advanced workflow. It's an app designed by pro compositors tested in pro pipelines on pro projects and you feel that. If you like Maya you'll like Nuke. Python is built right in like in maya and there's loads of free tuts to get anyone up and running.

Fusion used it many years ago and I still call it Con-Fusion. Hard app to learn.