PDA

View Full Version : Computer Graphics Degree Online/Offline

CD4
07-04-2011, 08:26 PM
Hi! I 'm a Sn.Shader artist from India.I'm having 8+ years of experience in CGI.Sadly, i 've no bachelor degree.My question: Is there any possibility that i can get Computer graphics or related to 3D development degree online from any recognized university?Please kindly let me know if anyone has any info.Thanking you all.

Peace!!
Koushik

cnadams
07-14-2011, 01:32 AM
G'Day Koushik,

The question is - Do you really need one? What type of jobs are you going for? 8+ years of experience and a portfolio of work should be enough for any shader/TD role. If you're going for a software dev style role then yes, a degree would be usefull, but you'd be better off going for a pure computer science / applied science degree from a physical university.

Hope that helps,
Cam

CD4
07-14-2011, 02:31 AM
Hi Cam,
Thanks for writing.Well,yes I got your point.yes I'm studying shader writing.so I thought having solid fundamental and in-depth knowledge in Computer graphics is necessary.But, yes having good profile and experience more than enough to apply for a Shading/TD role.A computer science degree will only help me in software development.Anyway I still do a lot of study regarding computer graphics with my own interest.Hopefully I can reach my goal.Thanks again.:)

Regards,
Koushik

gregjenings
07-17-2011, 05:12 PM
After 8 years of experience if you require degree in computer graphics then it's like going back to school again as no institute or college would provide you anything more than what you already know.
You have also not mentioned you background in terms of education so if you opt for pure science degrees as suggested by cnadams ,you may find difficult to adapt .

CD4
07-17-2011, 08:16 PM
After 8 years of experience if you require degree in computer graphics then it's like going back to school again as no institute or college would provide you anything more than what you already know.