PDA

View Full Version : Full Sail Animation Degree Suggestions

Ghostes
07-03-2011, 02:46 AM
I will start by introducing myself,
My name is Xander Shabe and I am a 19 year old painter, animator, writer and musician.
I have been strongly considering schools to study animation for film for the past 3 years as i view it as the final frontier for my creativity as it culminates all of my personal talents. I first discovered Full Sail University when I was about 16, I was still unsure of what I wanted to do with my future but was certain that it had something to do with the arts, as I have always had an intense passion for creating things.
As of now, after graduating high school I have worked very hard to earn money towards schooling, ( I currently have up to $64,000 I can use towards any school in the USA.) I have been intensely studying art and 2D animation and working on putting my self on a higher skill level than the typical aspiring artists my age. And I now know EXACTLY what I want to do.
I have been looking into many schools for CG animation including The School of Visual Arts, Ringling, Calarts and Vancouver Film School, as well as Full Sail. One thing i know for sure is that I do NOT want to get stuck in a standard 4 year education, I am looking at something very specific; an accelerated education such as VFS and Full Sail. (Only problem is that VFS is very pricey, where as i have $60k+ I can use in the USA.)

Now, I know I am rambling, I would just like some advice as to what the best option would be. I have read a lot of shady things about Full Sail and I fully understand that the education is what you get out of it, I most definitely do not expect to be spoon-fed information. I am looking to just go somewhere that will teach me the skills I need to be able to just create something beautiful and amazing and allow me to get a career in the film field.