PDA

View Full Version : Putting it all together...

Motoko91
06-29-2011, 11:45 PM
Hi everyone. I'm new here, new to drawing as well. I've read all sticky threads and some other threads in this section and I want to assure myself whether I have understood well your tips. As I said I'm new to drawing which means I'm total noob. I have done some drawings in the past as a child(as everyone) but I was never good at drawing. So now I'd like to become pro(that's a big goal I know). Ok, now straight to subject: I want to know if this way of learning how to draw is good one:

First step: copy photos, 2d arts etc. until it looks perfect/almost like original...meaning of this step: developing eye/hand coordination, basic principles of perspective, value, lighting/shading etc. If this step is correct, does it matter what things I'll be copying?

Second step: life drawing, perspective study, value study, anatomy study, color theory and so on...

Third step: drawing from imagination using photo references(which is my goal)...of course it doesn't mean that once I'm on third step I stop practicing the second one.

Fourth step: here I choose a path of my career

So...is it good? Just want to know how to start.

Lunatique
07-02-2011, 09:06 AM
The reason for doing exact copies of images is only for training your hand-to-eye coordination and ability to observe, analyze, and match proportions, values, colors, and edges. It has nothing whatsoever to do understanding light and shadow behaviors or perspective or anything else. It's simply visual comparison and matching, and having your hand reproduce what it sees.

It doesn't matter too much what you choose to copy, but it would be a good idea to copy something that you deem to be of a highly quality image of respectable artistic merit.

If you are creating an image using your imagination, then you need to realize this: