PDA

View Full Version : Procedural texture position problem in vRay

douglasfigueira
06-29-2011, 07:44 PM
Hello guys!

I am new in vRay and having some problems with procedural textures position when rendering. The same doesn't happen when rendering in software render or mr.

Maya Software:

http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/4854/softi.jpg

The same image rendered with vRay:

http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/2862/vray.jpg

I am using Maya 2012 and vRay 1.5SP1.

Any advice is very welcome!

Thank you,
Douglas

VanDerGoes
08-24-2011, 12:45 PM
I'm having the same problem. Maybe vray can't translate perfectly maya 3d textures. Can anybody tell if this is solved on vray 2.0?

douglasfigueira
08-24-2011, 07:02 PM
I'm having the same problem. Maybe vray can't translate perfectly maya 3d textures. Can anybody tell if this is solved on vray 2.0?

Yes VanDerGoes, the issue is now fixed in vRay 2.0! :thumbsup:

VanDerGoes
08-25-2011, 12:46 AM
Well, I just tried the 2.0 demo and it's not fixed. I'm trying with a cloud 3d texture on a plane, its place 3d tex scaled by a lot (like 500). Depth of the texture = 20. Software render gets all the fine detrail, vray renders a very blurred image.

douglasfigueira
08-25-2011, 02:15 AM
Well, I just tried the 2.0 demo and it's not fixed. I'm trying with a cloud 3d texture on a plane, its place 3d tex scaled by a lot (like 500). Depth of the texture = 20. Software render gets all the fine detrail, vray renders a very blurred image.

You can send me a simple test file and I can try here!

djx
08-25-2011, 06:11 AM
I dont think vray does an exact conversion of these procedural textures, although it attempts to preserve the same look and feel. I have not done any direct comparisons, but I've noticed that some procedural attributes have no effect in vray.

David

VanDerGoes
08-25-2011, 09:46 AM
http://www.fisheyestudio.it/ftp/Vray_3dTex_problem.zip

Here you can find a test scene.

VanDerGoes
08-25-2011, 09:49 AM