PDA

View Full Version : Having problems rigging this Spartan model

Ibeechu
06-28-2011, 02:07 PM
Hey guys :) First off, I'm an animator, not a rigger at all. But Bungie Day (July 7th, a holiday within the Halo/Bungie community) is coming up and I'd really love to do a little shot, maybe animating a Spartan to a piece of Bungie-related dialogue. Trouble is, as far as I can tell, there are no rigs available at all of a Spartan from anything later than Halo 1. I've found a model of a Halo 3 (Beta?) Spartan (which, as far as I can tell, was ripped right from the game data), but it's not rigged. I've been spending the last few days trying to figure out how to rig it by following Digital Tutor videos, but I've hit a snag.

I've done some very, very light rigging before, but I never paid attention to the details of it, really. But in all the tutorials I've found, they all show how to set up a joint system with the character in either a standard T- or A-pose. But this model I have isn't in either. The feet are pointing a little to either side, and the arms are out in front and more relaxed. This has made figuring out where exactly to place the joints and how exactly to orient them very frustrating.

Now, ideally, I'd love one of you supergeniuses to just set up the joints for me (I can put in all the controls and stuff no problem. It's just these joints in the first place that are killing me), but I understand that that's probably an unrealistic wish. But, seriously, if you guys have any sort of tips at all for what I should be doing, you have no idea how much I'd appreciate it :)

Here's a screencap of what the model looks like:

http://i53.tinypic.com/bhg7q9.jpg

By the way, I got this model for free by searching around the Internet. But, if this sort of thing is off-limits because it was taken from a game, please let me know.

Thanks, guys!

~EJ

bentllama
06-28-2011, 03:12 PM
gee, if only I could give you my rig for that old masterchief...

Ibeechu
06-28-2011, 03:16 PM