PDA

View Full Version : Structs In an Array or an Array of Structs


DaveWortley
06-23-2011, 10:23 AM
I'm using Structs for the first time and not sure what the best method to use is.

So I think I need a struct like this.....

Struct Task (OptionA, OptionB, OptionC)

Now if I want to have multiple tasks should I have....

An Array of Structs

TaskArray = #(TaskA OptionA:ValA OptionB:ValB OptionC:ValC,TaskB OptionA:ValA OptionB:ValB OptionC:ValC,TaskC OptionA:ValA OptionB:ValB OptionC:ValC)

or

An Array of Structs

Tasks = Task (OptionA:#(ValA,ValA,ValA), OptionB:#(ValB,ValB,ValB), OptionC:#(ValC,ValC,ValC))



Any good examples or documentation?

Cheers


D

LoneRobot
06-23-2011, 10:48 AM
hi Dave, the first option would be my approach (IMHO), compiling an array of the instantiated structs, rather than multiple arrays of struct parameters.

An example can be found here -

http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/speechbot

I use an array of structs to retrieve morpher key data from XML. The struct in my example is called keydata. I found that easier to iterate and restore the keys this way. It seems to be a more OO based approach to me!

lo
06-23-2011, 11:50 AM
Definitely the first option, a bit pointless to use a struct otherwise.

DaveWortley
06-23-2011, 12:23 PM
Yep cheers guys, After a few mins of playing around it seems completely obvious now, option 1 is the way.

CGTalk Moderation
06-23-2011, 12:24 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.