PDA

View Full Version : editing primitives


Papigiulio
06-16-2011, 03:39 AM
I couldve sworn Ive seen this topic floating by somewhere.

Im looking for a way to edit the standard primitives in max. f.e. I want the bottom of a sphere to touch the floor on creation and not go through the 0 zaxis and use less segments. Is it even possible to edit that somewhere in the config or a script?

PEN
06-16-2011, 04:09 AM
This was having issues with overriding the position values but it will work on the properties of the object.

http://penproductions.ca/scripts/presetManager/presetManager.html

Papigiulio
06-16-2011, 05:42 AM
Awesomeness. As usual Paul to the rescue. :) Great script mate.

Not sure if it is on my side only but installed the script. Ran the :

presetManager.editIni() parameter

and the ini only showed:

[PresetManager]
enabled=true

Not sure why. When I opened the .ini manually all the other info was there. so I copied it from the notepad opened .ini inside the maxscript editor and then it worked poifectly.

Oh and first time in years I found that a sphere has a [base to pivot] setting pffff. Just what I was looking for hah. :hmm:

lucpet
06-16-2011, 07:25 AM
if $ != undefined then
(
ResetPivot $
CenterPivot $
for i in selection do
(
i.pivot = [i.pivot.x, i.pivot.y, i.min.z]
)
$.pos = [0,0,0]
)
else
(
messageBox "Select an object then run this script again." title:"Computer says no!" beep:true
)
)

PEN
06-16-2011, 12:39 PM
Ah you plug config must be in user setting instead of the Max install.

Glad you like it. So far it has been working on my machine without issue.

CGTalk Moderation
06-16-2011, 12:39 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.