PDA

View Full Version : 2012 Bitmap color bug?


kees
06-07-2011, 11:20 PM
I've noticed that colors are not correct in maxscript tools in 2012.
Possibly a gamma issue.

Here is a sample script.
Please compare the colors carefully.
Note how the colors displayed with ImgTag are darker then the Image viewer.

p = (getdir #maxroot) + "Maps\\adskMtl\\Finishes.Tiling.Ceramic.Mosaic.Blu" + "e.jpg"

b = openbitmap p
display b

rollout poo "poo"
(
imgtag n "fish" bitmap:b
)
createDialog poo width:400 height:400

Can anybody confirm they are seeing color differences?

kees
06-07-2011, 11:24 PM
double post

lo
06-08-2011, 12:22 AM
I can confirm the colors do not match only when gamma is enabled in 3dsmax.

Kickflipkid687
06-08-2011, 01:04 AM
Yeah, I noticed my button bitmaps for my toolbar are darked in Max 2012 :twisted:

kees
06-08-2011, 01:34 AM
Thanks guys.
I have passed it on to maxscript guys at Autodesk.

denisT
06-08-2011, 01:38 AM
Thanks guys.
I have passed it on to maxscript guys at Autodesk.

i don't use 2012, and i don't really want to try it yet.
my question is:
is imgTag bitmap always lighter(darker) than displayed bitmap, or just does look different?

Kickflipkid687
06-08-2011, 02:45 AM
I was just using a regular checkbutton, and it was always or almost always making it darker. But I did have it randomly make my bitmaps appear fine a few times... not sure why..

plastic
06-08-2011, 08:18 AM
I always had gamma issues with gamma and UI bitmaps, I either display them with dotNet, or something like that:

originalGamma = displayGamma --get current gamma settings
fileIngamma = 1.0 --set the gamma override
i.images=#(thisIcon,"bitmap.bmp",1,1,1,1,1)
fileIngamma = originalGamma --restore gamma

plastic
06-08-2011, 08:29 AM
Aside from gamma issues, imagebuttons always looked darker for me, not only in 2012. Also there is something wrong with alpha masking.

LoneRobot
06-08-2011, 09:29 AM
Aside from gamma issues, imagebuttons always looked darker for me, not only in 2012. Also there is something wrong with alpha masking.

yes, you're right, this cropped up yesterday -
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=98&t=985104

kees
06-08-2011, 10:41 PM
Chris from Autodesk has figured out the issue (and send me a fix for c++ sdk) so I am assuming this fix will eventually make it into 3dsmax.

Thanks Chris!

CGTalk Moderation
06-08-2011, 10:41 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.