PDA

View Full Version : Combustion Color Corrector?

darthmahon
10-27-2003, 12:06 PM
I was browsing these forums the other day when I stumbled upon something that made me think wow, how cool is that.

Anyway, I found the following image:

http://scifi3d.theforce.net/forums/coruscant_close4b.jpg

Had been transformed into the following using Discreet Combustion.

http://scifi3d.theforce.net/forums/coruscant_close_combtest01.jpg

So I went and downloaded the demo version of combustion just to see if it could make a bland flat image so bright and interesting.

So I started playing around with the Color Corrector as I assumed this is where I would have to play around to get similar results. I changed some of the settings and also added a glow which gave it this similar effect, but it really wasn't the same.

The post where these images are from mentioned something about highlights in combustion, so I played around with those but it still doesn't look right. Is it simply a matter of color correction or is there more to it to acheive the same result?

I read the combustion tutorials but none really brushed on what I wanted to know.

The white windows are the main problem. Mine stay the same, small little white blobs when I put a glow and color correct, but I want the windows to blend together and give it a nice glow.

Any ideas on which settings I should play with?

Thanks,
Chris

Alfred_Newman
10-27-2003, 12:50 PM
You should color correct in layers to achieve that. Try masking areas from midtones to highlights.

darthmahon
10-27-2003, 01:07 PM
I think I know what you meant by masking but not sure what you meant by "from midtones to highlights"? Sorry :hmm:

Masking had crossed my mind but I figured that would be quite a long process, especially if the subject(building) is moving and could cause some issues between the different layers.