PDA

View Full Version : Should I become a CG Artist?

maxrules
05-30-2011, 03:57 PM
Hey Guys!

I seriously need some advice by experienced professionals around here. Up until 2 years ago I wanted to become a mechanical engineer, but thats not going so well because now I've developed this ever-lasting taste for Computer Graphics...mainly Visual Effects. I'm in my final year of high-school and this is my last month here...then I graduate. I REALLY WANT TO HAVE A CAREER IN THE CG INDUSTRY....LIKE....REALLY!

My parents want me to get qualified as an engineer then get into the CG industry so that I have something to fall back on if I fail as a CG Artist. My Questions are:

1) Can I make a living as a 3D Artist (Compositor, Modeler, VFX) in Canada enough so that I can do whatever I want?
2) Is a college 14-month diploma enough to get hired and start working? Or do I need further qualification like a BA degree?
3) I wanna work for companies like EA, Volition, Blur Studios, or Ubisoft. Do they pay enough?
4) Where can I get a degree in Animation in Canada?

IF YOU GUYS CAN ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS...I WILL BE VERY GRATEFUL! :applause:

THANKS GUYS!

KrzysztofFus
05-30-2011, 04:47 PM
1. My brother is an engineer. I am a freelance 3d artist and I make more than him. My parents wanted me to go into engineering or robotics.

2. I needed a 4 year course to build up my CG skills. I highly doubt ANYONE can learn a 3d software and build up a reel strong enough to work in this field in only 14 months.

3. The highest paying companies I know of personally are Valve(Games), Dreamworks, and Sony Imageworks. But I am sure Blur pays a decent wage also. EA and Ubisoft have alot of smaller companies within them so it would depend on which game dev you worked for.

4. 3D is an art form. I would reccomend you go to an art school for a few years and learn a 3d software like Maya in your free time and then go to a school like VFS.

Hope this helps.

Almaghest
05-31-2011, 02:41 PM