PDA

View Full Version : 0.5 increments in a TextField / InputField


Alonzo
05-20-2011, 06:01 PM
Hi Houdini Pros,

is it possible that I increment an input field by a specific number? I'm playing around with Houdini and my asset need an option, so that the user can adjust the slider in 0.5 steps.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30899/web/Houdini/2011-05-20_stepping_problem/tower_round.JPG

thanks in advance

Hammy
05-21-2011, 01:54 AM
Unfortunately it's not possible to enforce this by modifying the slider parameter. If the value needs to be a multiple of 1/2 then you could look at locking the parameter and having +/- buttons to increment/decrement the value by 0.5, or you could add a callback script that does some rounding to valid numbers when the value is changed.

booyabase
05-21-2011, 08:18 AM
use the value ladder, once used to it You will miss it anywhere.

just in case You do not already know about it
http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini11.0/basics/ladder

Alonzo
05-21-2011, 08:42 AM
thanks Graham, I'll have a look at this workaround

and also thanks to Martin, but is it possible to lock it to 0.5 increments? I know that you can use it, but I'm trying to limit the input, there should be no values like this: 3.255

olson
05-24-2011, 02:15 AM
This could be done by using two parameters. The first parameter would be a float slider that will accept any number. The second parameter would reference the first with an expression which could round the number to the closest half value. Everything in the OTL would then references the second parameter. There are probably a hundred other ways to do it (this is Houdini we're talking about) but that is one way to do it.

Alonzo
05-24-2011, 08:51 AM
thanks luke, that's simple and very effictive.. just modified the idea a little bit more, because I wanted it to be as simple as possible, but I'm still learning Houdini, so I'll try as many solutions as possible :D

made a float value and set it to 0.5 and locked it, then made it invisible and now I got what I was looking for, because in the required parameter I could just add the value

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30899/web/Houdini/2011-05-24_stepping_problem/2011-05-24_stepping_problem.JPG

CGTalk Moderation
05-24-2011, 08:51 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.