PDA

View Full Version : Maya to XSI transition for animators

DruG
05-11-2011, 10:42 PM
Hi, friendly XSI users ;)

As a Maya animator I have to animate a character in your favorite XSI and as you probably already know - I need some help :)

First of all: why there are times (too often) when I can`t Paste keys on timeline? I select something, I copy, I go to a frame I want to paste into and... Paste is grayed out. What am I doing wrong?

Other thing - do you know any script I could hook up to a shortcut which would change type of keys showing on timeline? I mean RMB > Show Keys > Keyable Parameters and Current Character Set.

Or maybe there`s a shortcut already and I haven`t found it? The amount of clicks needed to change that every time is a bit annoying.

finalgathering
05-18-2011, 04:27 PM
To paste keys, I usually use ctrl+c/ctrl+v never had a problem even between objects.
If you're on Win7 and use the fcurve editor or ICE graph, I highly recommend that you use an "Aero" Theme (right click on desktop>personalize>chose any Aero theme) or you may get some annoying refresh issues. If that doesn't help, rename the preference file C:\Users\you\Autodesk\Softimage_2012
As for the second part with the timeline keys displayed, my colleague in support Stephen will reply to you shortly.

xsisupport
05-18-2011, 04:41 PM
Hi, friendly XSI users ;)

Other thing - do you know any script I could hook up to a shortcut which would change type of keys showing on timeline? I mean RMB > Show Keys > Keyable Parameters and Current Character Set.

Or maybe there`s a shortcut already and I haven`t found it? The amount of clicks needed to change that every time is a bit annoying.
http://xsisupport.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/changing-the-mini-dopesheet-show-keys-settings/

ShaderOp
05-18-2011, 08:08 PM
As a Maya animator I have to animate a character in your favorite XSI and as you probably already know - I need some help :)
You guys are working on The Witcher III already? :surprised

DruG