PDA

View Full Version : Corel Painter 12


Alonzo
05-11-2011, 11:46 AM
Finally we got the new Corel Painter:

The world’s leading digital art software
Corel® Painter™ 12 is the world's leading digital art software. Its combination of inventive drawing tools, Natural-Media® brushes, image cloning capabilities and virtually unlimited customization options give you total freedom for creative expression. Internationally recognized for its RealBristle™ brushes, Painter offers the most realistic form of digital painting available in the digital art realm. And with the introduction of new Real Watercolor and Real Wet Oil brushes, plus exciting creative features exclusive to this version, Painter continues to change what's possible in art!

Direct Link - Corel Painter 12 (http://www.corel.com/servlet/Satellite/us/en/Product/1166553885783)

Steve Green
05-11-2011, 01:09 PM
That actually looks pretty good - the speed improvements are way, way overdue. Just hope it's enough to keep the product going.

PerryDS
05-11-2011, 02:23 PM
From what I see, they finally have come through in a big way and released a product that artists want. Slam dunk...

plastic
05-11-2011, 03:01 PM
Wow...is it just me enjoying the shiny new UI, or is it really _a lot_ faster??
It feels like a whole new app...very impressed, after player around with it for 5 min.

CHRiTTeR
05-11-2011, 03:12 PM
yes, verry nice release!

Roger Eberhart
05-11-2011, 11:56 PM
In the speed comparison video, they used a larger brush in Painter 11 than they did in 12. With complex brushes, size has a huge impact on performance. Kind of cheating comparing them like that.

Lunatique
05-12-2011, 03:48 AM
If the transparent pixels are still treated as white pixels when not picking up the layer underneath during blending, then Painter is still of limited use when it comes to flexible and powerful digital workflow. That one single flaw has stopped me from using Painter as much as I used to, and until they do something about it, I just can't fit Painter into my workflow except to use a few of the custom brushes I have for it for specific effects.

EvilDan
05-12-2011, 04:24 AM
Crap, I just bought corel 11 in February :/

JaysinB
05-12-2011, 06:24 AM
If the transparent pixels are still treated as white pixels when not picking up the layer underneath during blending, then Painter is still of limited use when it comes to flexible and powerful digital workflow. That one single flaw has stopped me from using Painter as much as I used to, and until they do something about it, I just can't fit Painter into my workflow except to use a few of the custom brushes I have for it for specific effects.

I was thinking the exact same thing, but upon trying the demo they seem to have fixed this issue. Yeah, layers are actually usable in Painter now. :eek: I normally skip a version between upgrades but this one may be the exception. Perhaps Adobe's inclusion of the new mixer brushes in CS5 light a fire under Corels ass?

karthikarctic
05-12-2011, 06:55 AM
thanks for the news. Downloading trial now :)

Per-Anders
05-12-2011, 08:02 AM
Like the new layout, feels a lot smoother there. I'm not sure if it's really that much faster than previous versions, gonna have to do some proper tests later on to determine if that's just marketing faff, but it certainly feels more solid.

plastic
05-12-2011, 08:39 AM
It feels like a whole new program, and a good one.
The UI layout is very good, even compared to Photoshop.
Looking at the task manager, it uses 100% of all my 8 cores with complex brush strokes. So it's kind of a brute force approach. But what do I have all the cores for anyway, that's perfectly fine for me.
It's really snappy on my Core i7 system. And it's 64bit, so there is no memory bottleneck.
I suspect that the performance on laptops and slower computers hasn't improved much, but on a fast system it's a joy to use.
The new Photoshop brush system was a disappointment to me, I just can't use it for painting. Artrage has potential, but it lacks some important features, especially proper Wacom integration, so I'm very happy that Painter was resurrected, I wasn't expecting it really.

Steve Green
05-12-2011, 09:09 AM
Crap, I just bought corel 11 in February :/

Me too. Oh well...

Alonzo
05-12-2011, 10:43 AM
where is the brush creator from 11? :sad: it feels faster, but not as much as I hoped-for :arteest:

Fahrija
05-12-2011, 11:32 AM
I find the new layout and the sketchbook pro features very appealing but it appears to be a big performance problem regarding multitasking. It seams the painting process goes fully into the cpu. A hour ago I installed the trial. I drew a single line wich took 20 sec. in super slow motion to perform during one maxwell rendering. The canvas size was about 1600x900 150ppi. I opend a photoshop (CS5) canvas at the same time with the same size with no problems at all.

Its totally impossible to paint meanwhile rendering which is a little killer in my opinion.
(workstation specs: Intel i7-950 / Asus rampageIIIextreme / 12 gb DDR3 / OCZ SSD / NVidiaQuadroFX 1800)

Is there anyone who can confirm this issue?

nisachar
05-12-2011, 01:07 PM
I find the new layout and the sketchbook pro features very appealing but it appears to be a big performance problem regarding multitasking. It seams the painting process goes fully into the cpu. A hour ago I installed the trial. I drew a single line wich took 20 sec. in super slow motion to perform during one maxwell rendering. The canvas size was about 1600x900 150ppi. I opend a photoshop (CS5) canvas at the same time with the same size with no problems at all.

Its totally impossible to paint meanwhile rendering which is a little killer in my opinion.
(workstation specs: Intel i7-950 / Asus rampageIIIextreme / 12 gb DDR3 / OCZ SSD / NVidiaQuadroFX 1800)

Is there anyone who can confirm this issue?

That is possibly a multi core issue. In my tests it is slower than when you toggle the multicore option off. Without Multicore the brush behaves as normal.

The ui is MUCH improved and compact, The Anti aliasing when rotating the canvas is a good feature, over all a nice release but Corel still needs to do more.

samartin
05-12-2011, 02:18 PM
I find the new layout and the sketchbook pro features very appealing but it appears to be a big performance problem regarding multitasking. It seams the painting process goes fully into the cpu. A hour ago I installed the trial. I drew a single line wich took 20 sec. in super slow motion to perform during one maxwell rendering. The canvas size was about 1600x900 150ppi. I opend a photoshop (CS5) canvas at the same time with the same size with no problems at all.

Its totally impossible to paint meanwhile rendering which is a little killer in my opinion.
(workstation specs: Intel i7-950 / Asus rampageIIIextreme / 12 gb DDR3 / OCZ SSD / NVidiaQuadroFX 1800)

Is there anyone who can confirm this issue?

If you need to draw while rendering, and would be happy with 100% single core then go to task manager and set your affinity to all cores minus core 0. Maybe try a few cores disabled on the Maxwell render, and Corel may utilise the cores that are 100% available.

Alternatively, select 4 cores off on Maxwell, and do the same for Corel, but the other 4 cores if that makes sense..

Fahrija
05-12-2011, 02:39 PM
thank you for the responses. I`m checking both options.

dantea
05-13-2011, 01:08 AM
the feature video was interesting ... kinda sad that when "image navigation" was first invented back in corel photo-paint 7 (1997), that we see it as a "new" feature in a corel product in 2011 though

bobnolin
05-13-2011, 03:00 AM
I'm wondering if anyone has tried the Mac version? I have a Mac Pro with 8 cores, running 64 bit Snow Leopard, so I'm anxious to see how it goes. So far, though, running the demo, I'm dismayed to see it's using WINE.

HUH?

Revision: actually, I have yet to get the demo running. So far all I see is the wine app. It says it installed Painter 12, but darned if I can find it.

Rev 2: Okay, I found the "installed" program. It's an .EXE file in my Downloads folder. Does this mean that now the Mac version of Painter is actually a Windows version running via Wine?

Rev 3: Um, did anyone get the demo to work? It's not working for me. I've used Wine before and it is a tad slow on startup, but I'm not seeing anything happening here. Help!

Per-Anders
05-13-2011, 03:27 AM
No wine on the mac version when I installed it. Are you sure you downloaded the right thing?

bobnolin
05-13-2011, 03:35 AM
I downloaded the Mac version from the Corel site.

bobnolin
05-13-2011, 03:41 AM
Oh. My. God. The download page says "Window/Mac demo download", and then down below in tiny letters it says "Click here for Mac version." Now I'm downloading a mac version.

Could they have made that any more confusing?

But then, you didn't have that problem. Maybe time to get some sleep....

Thanks for the help. Sorry for my stupidity! :rolleyes:

karthikarctic
05-13-2011, 05:50 AM
i am not able to install it. It says, that it will only install in a system with Win XP sp3?


I have xp but i don't know if it is sp3 :(

why? why? why?

marcuso
05-13-2011, 06:18 AM
Seems I'm the only one experiencing this version to be much slower than the previous ones! Sure, most of the brushes seem faster, but panning, rotating, the free transform and especially the UI is real slow. I still find 9.5 to be the slickest one.

Per-Anders
05-13-2011, 09:52 AM
Hmm, had a crash or two with blenders and the "save variant" behaviors. Didn't previous versions have a bugreporting feature built in? (if not then Corel you know what you need to do next).

workbench
05-13-2011, 11:45 PM
Seems I'm the only one experiencing this version to be much slower than the previous ones! Sure, most of the brushes seem faster, but panning, rotating, the free transform and especially the UI is real slow. I still find 9.5 to be the slickest one.

You're not alone, I've had the exact same experience as you, my guess is that most people are too ecstatic by the new car paint to notice the broken engine. It's a good version for sure but it needs some serious ironing, at least this time Corel showed that they still care about Painter and put some effort in it.

karthikarctic
05-14-2011, 11:59 AM
That is possibly a multi core issue. In my tests it is slower than when you toggle the multicore option off. Without Multicore the brush behaves as normal.

The ui is MUCH improved and compact, The Anti aliasing when rotating the canvas is a good feature, over all a nice release but Corel still needs to do more.

i agree. The program slogs more than the earlier versions. Holding ctrl+alt and scaling used to be easier now the opacity info is also integrated into it i guess and it make the brush enlargement very slow and annoying, coz it is a feature one must use many times. I liked that feature a lot but now i do it the photoshop way. I am not able to arrange the brushes as i want. The brush pallete on the left side is an unnecessary change.

personally, i like Painter X, personally and Painter 11 too. All that was required from my humble pov was an accelerated workflow. The lazybrush type sketching that it does most of the time needs to go and it really needs to get more refined like photoshop.

sanakris
05-19-2011, 05:52 PM
bobnolin (http://forums.cgsociety.org/member.php?u=387478) It isn't you...corel 12 doesn't suppport mac os for 64bit yet. They are still working on it. So it'll be a month or two before you can use it. Can't remember where i found the info.

karthikarctic (http://forums.cgsociety.org/member.php?u=140869) to try and see if you have sp3 on your computer go to start>control panel>on the left hand side "windows update">choose express or custom.> It'll take a bit but a list of updates will be listed. Choose to install and download. Be prepared to maybe not use your computer for a few hrs.

Hope this helps.

bobnolin
05-19-2011, 06:01 PM
@sanakris -

I have downloaded the MAC demo (which worked MUCH better for me than the Windows download, given that I am on a Mac - doh) and it runs just fine on Snow Leopard. It just runs as a 32-bit app, which is fine. 64 bit would give me access to more of my RAM, but other than that, it runs the same as the 32 bit (is my understanding from what y'all are saying).

I like what I see. They totally redid the UI, and for the good, I think. It makes much more sense now. I like the new features, like high-def zoom (very cool). Is it worth a $225 upgrade? Well, if my client pays his bill soon, I'd say yes! I will go for it.

sanakris
05-19-2011, 06:11 PM
Here it is. Right now painter 12 does not support it. It's been causing a great deal of frustration.

http://painterfactory.com/forums/t/3265.aspx

bobnolin
05-19-2011, 07:18 PM
I think there's a bit of misinformation here. Mac OSX 10.6.7 (Snow Leopard) runs 32 bit programs. Period. It does! Trust me! It also runs 64 bit programs. I used to run 32 bit Photoshop CS3 with no problem on my Mac Pro. Now I run CS5 (64 bit) and Painter X (32 bit).

Why everyone is upset about this is beyond me.

As to why there is no 64 bit Painter 12: Corel would need to rewrite Painter as a Cocoa app in order to run 64 bit. Simple as that. No evil intention, no withholding of information.

These conspiracy theories just crack me up.

Geddn
05-19-2011, 08:29 PM
I also ordered paint11 about a month ago, after talking with support, they offered me a " teck" upgrade for 50.$ May be worth a try to those who already got 11 not long ago.

Cometsoft
05-20-2011, 08:53 AM
I try to run the demo and it says I've already gone beyond the trial period (OSX). Not a good sign considering the lackluster support they offer on installation and licensing issues. I had to go through hell to move Painter 11 to a new computer.

TomDeVis
05-20-2011, 12:13 PM
It seems to me that they got all the good things from sketchbook pro and artrage ?
I'm definatly excited and looking forward till triald has finished downloading

cresshead
05-20-2011, 12:19 PM
I try to run the demo and it says I've already gone beyond the trial period (OSX). Not a good sign considering the lackluster support they offer on installation and licensing issues. I had to go through hell to move Painter 11 to a new computer.

have corel changed licensing, my painter and coreldraw are serial numbers

Cometsoft
05-20-2011, 01:07 PM
have corel changed licensing, my painter and coreldraw are serial numbers

I think it's the same licensing as before. The activation thing is what screwed me up. What happened before was partially my fault (I'd used Time Machine to move files to a new computer) but Corel was no help in getting the problem fixed. A user on this forum gave me the info I needed to resolve the problem.

cresshead
05-20-2011, 01:45 PM
I think it's the same licensing as before. The activation thing is what screwed me up. What happened before was partially my fault (I'd used Time Machine to move files to a new computer) but Corel was no help in getting the problem fixed. A user on this forum gave me the info I needed to resolve the problem.

Corel dropped serial numbers in favour of 'activation'...is there no import/export licence utility like autodesk...if your on the back and call of corel being around to move installs, then i'm totally not interested in painter 12.

apple just have serial numbers for apps..

same reason i dropped toon boom studio...i want to be able to move installs from desktop to laptop at a moment's notice.

CGTalk Moderation
05-20-2011, 01:45 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.