PDA

View Full Version : stick newbie -- please help!

se7enhedd
05-08-2011, 05:14 PM
I'm a newbie to Nuke who needs to finish a class project. I realise these will be really basic questions & you may well be tempted to tell me to go and watch some basic tutorials; the fact of the matter is I've spent the last fortnight doing nothing but Nuke and watching tutorials on digital tutors, foundry channel on youtube etc. but I still can't grasp roto-ing, alphas, keying, anything! I follow the tutorials, and it seems to make sense and the techniques work on the project files.. but once i try using my own footage nothing works, or if it does eventually work I don't understand why, so consequently I can't transfer anything to a new problem.
Most of the tut's don't cover basic stuff, or they're some guy mumbling into the mic whilst clicking around trying to comp a specific scene - there's nothing to tell you what keyers to use when or what a n alpha is other than black=transparent. i don't grasp what all this premult and rgba.alpha is (ie. whats the difference between rgba and rgba.alpha..?)
Are alpha channels specific to one image, or can they operate on a number of images (ie. can I have a 'hole' in the middle of the scene, and have that hole cut through two or more images layed over each other? or do i have to assign the alpha 'hole' to both images. if the latter is so, what if I already have an alpha on that image, how do i keep the two separate?
In my frustration, I've tried to do a simple comp with a grass field as a bg, a car cut from a street scene over that, with a figure shot against a greenscreen for the fg. with the car moving across the field and behind the figure... and i can't even do that. I've fluked the roto round the car, and animating it across the field was easy. but i can't key the greenscreen. I just don't understand the principles of the rgba, the mask pipes, premults... I just don't get it!