PDA

View Full Version : Critique needed for my first Mattepainting

laz33
05-03-2011, 10:30 PM
Right so i been working on this project for quiet long now im a graphics design student in college (2nd year) and for my FMP ( final major project ) i decided to make a illustartion of Norwich being abandoned / destroyed. the picture is build up from about 5-10 pictures that i have taken of the city and i started editing it and some constructive critisism would be great. it is not finished yet im propably about half way throught. aye and the size is abit smaller than a A1 sheet because it will be printed out for my final exhibition. therefore its around 10000px x 5000 at 300 dpi.

This is the first time i have ever attempted digital editing similar to this so dont be too harsh :p

Thanks Laz.

link http://www5.picturepush.com/photo/a/5585688/img/5585688.jpg

RicoD
05-04-2011, 06:36 AM
Welcome to the forums laz!

I don't know much about matte painting really, so I can only offer what I see. But maybe you can extract info from it and seek solutions to them. I'm sure many have had the same problems and found solutions for them.

The first thing I notice is that the comets really stand out. Especially the smoke trail looks pasted in, because their value stays constant. Therefore they appear to get darker at the top, which is strange. It's supposed to be the point that's the furthest away from us and ought to be more towards the colour and value of the sky as opposed to closer objects.

The city looks like a morning or middle of the day shot, whereas the sky looks like it's late afternoon. This clashes too. The light is completely different at that time of the day and the heavy, dark clouds will cast some pretty noticeable shadows. Try to find some pictures of city views at that time of day with similar weather conditions and find the cues that really gives it that look. Different colour temperature, coloured highlights, colour in the shadows, different values and such.