PDA

View Full Version : Hard Aurface Modeling Questions of a NOOB


Vagos
05-03-2011, 08:15 PM
Hi!

I am new to the forum and new to 3d modeling…

I am doing mostly hard surface modeling with 3Ds max and then I am interested in 3D printing the models to make plastic models in scale of tanks or fantasy…

But I have some problems…

I would like to know how can I sub divide my object without smoothing it? Because I want to import my hard surface model to ZBrush and add there the weld seams.

Here is one of the Project I am working on T-40 light amphibious tank.

http://i585.photobucket.com/albums/ss294/Vagelis_2009/3DS_MAX/th_t-40_forum_question.jpg (http://s585.photobucket.com/albums/ss294/Vagelis_2009/3DS_MAX/?action=view&current=t-40_forum_question.jpg)

http://i585.photobucket.com/albums/ss294/Vagelis_2009/3DS_MAX/th_22.jpg (http://s585.photobucket.com/albums/ss294/Vagelis_2009/3DS_MAX/?action=view&current=22.jpg)

Here is the hull where I want to add weld seams…

http://i585.photobucket.com/albums/ss294/Vagelis_2009/3DS_MAX/th_Untitledaerg.jpg (http://s585.photobucket.com/albums/ss294/Vagelis_2009/3DS_MAX/?action=view&current=Untitledaerg.jpg)

Thank you!

I am looking forward for your help!

Psyk0
05-03-2011, 11:39 PM
I'm assuming you mean..."when i subdivide my mesh in zbrush it turns to a smooth surface instead of remaining hard edged"

If so then you need to add support edges (selected in red below) the outpout of the subdivided mesh will be hard edged as shown with the green check mark.

You could also try the crease option in zbrush before subdividing, see if that helps.

Another option would be to assign smoothing groups to your mesh and tick the "use smoothing groups" within the subdmodifier, collapse the mesh and export that to zbrush, the draw back of course is you lost your low poly cage.

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/6075/supportedges.jpg

Vagos
05-04-2011, 04:37 PM
Thank you for the reply Psyk0 !

Yes that exactly what I mean, when you subdivide an object at ZBrush its like doing a Turbosmooth modifier in 3Dsmax…

You have to have a lot of geometry close to the edjes to hold up its detail and retain its sharp edge (as you show in your example) ….

Isn’t there an option to add this geometry automatically without having to connect and weld a ton of vertesies….

I mean is there a way to automatically subdivide my odject and increasing its polygons, but without smoothing it at all?

Psyk0
05-08-2011, 08:02 PM
Yes, like i said earlier...

You could also try the crease option in zbrush before subdividing, see if that helps.

Another option would be to assign smoothing groups to your mesh and tick the "use smoothing groups" within the subdmodifier, collapse the mesh and export that to zbrush, the draw back of course is you lost your low poly cage.

If you need more precision i'll make a quick how-to.

ezekiel66
05-20-2011, 10:04 AM
Simply deactivate the "Subdivide Smooth Modifier" in ZBrush before subdividing the model ("Smt" button in the Tool -> Geometry menu).

You should add some additional edge loops to your model though before you import it into ZBrush. Make sure all polygons are as equilateral as possible (have 4 edges of equal length). Avoid elongate/ drawn-out polygons. You will not be able to sculpt on those without producing unwanted artifacts.

CGTalk Moderation
05-20-2011, 10:04 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.