PDA

View Full Version : Subdivision Reversion


obliviboy
04-29-2011, 10:56 PM
http://www.scriptspot.com/files/u23514/2.jpg

Subdivision Reversion will recreate the subdivision levels of an already subdivided mesh with 100% precision. It works with only 3ds Max 2011 and 3ds max 2012 (x86 and x64).

Here are some of the benefits you get:

•If a 3d model you buy online has it’s modifier stack collapsed it is almost useless, you can’t edit, unwrap, rig it, but with Subdivision Reversion you can reconstruct the first subdivision level and then do all the above.

•If in your production pipeline you need at some point to collapse the model with Subdivision Reversion you can get the subdivisions back later

•When you apply a turbosmooth modifier to a reconstructed subdivision level you will get exactly the same mesh as the original


Get it from here http://subdivisionreversion.zzl.org/

mradfo21
04-30-2011, 06:40 AM
Really nice!

How does the retopology work on meshes where topological principals were not strictly followed?

TeZzy
05-01-2011, 12:02 PM
Reverse subdivision will be so useful. But the link isn't working me

obliviboy
05-01-2011, 12:16 PM
@mradfo21 yes it does work if the base mesh contained tris and ngons.
@TeZzy strange, the site works for me

gabe28
05-02-2011, 12:17 AM
I always wondered why programs didn't have this option. Always seemed to me that the math should be doable.

Ballo
05-02-2011, 11:08 AM
good job, I discover that tool in zbrush for first time and I absolutely love it! Have it in Max is a good addition, now Maya! :)

Thanks!

PixelGrade
05-02-2011, 01:06 PM
Quite useful

krains
05-04-2011, 08:02 PM
Does this work on meshes that have not been subdivided using Turbosmooth/Meshsmooth, etc.? Essentially, is a modifier hierarchy required at any point during the creation of the mesh for this to work properly? For instance, if you've imported a hi-res mesh out of zBrush or Mudbox. Will this optimize those meshes down as well?

Thanks!

obliviboy
05-04-2011, 11:20 PM
Does this work on meshes that have not been subdivided using Turbosmooth/Meshsmooth, etc.? Essentially, is a modifier hierarchy required at any point during the creation of the mesh for this to work properly? For instance, if you've imported a hi-res mesh out of zBrush or Mudbox. Will this optimize those meshes down as well?

Thanks!
yes it works on meshes that come from zbrush or mudbox

Xestion
05-06-2011, 10:32 AM
Impressive, good work! : )

CGTalk Moderation
05-06-2011, 10:32 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.