PDA

View Full Version : Traditional 4-year, or specialized degree?

amew
04-24-2011, 09:19 PM
Hello!

I am in a bit of a dilemma. I am currently attending a private university for FREE, and I am in a general art/digital media program. I have been having a major conflict with wanting to move out of state and get a Design/3d art degree. Would it help me much more to pack up and leave and find a new school? Or should I just push through the 1.5 years I have left and then pursue a masters/certifications in 3d, after I have my traditional art degree?

Thank you in advance!

fig
04-26-2011, 02:43 PM
That's a nice problem to have :)

Personally I think there's a lot of value in a traditional college education, as much for the social aspect as the academic one. You learn a ton about yourself living on your own and get exposed to new ideas and experiences. Your artistic viewpoint is also informed by everything you learn so classes in sociology, psychology, political science, etc., absolutely affect how you look at the world and tell stories.

So all that being said, it's tough to beat getting a degree for free. I'd stick out the four year degree (especially if you only have a year and a half left) focusing as much as possible on traditional media (figure drawing, photography, painting), and then look into a more specialized program after you graduate. Something like iAnimate.net or Animation Mentor if you want to be an animator or Gnomon for visual effects would be perfect for giving you a more specialized CG education when you're ready for it.

My two cents...

Rebeccak
04-26-2011, 03:48 PM
I definitely have to second fig's advice, get that free degree, then decide where to go from there.

amew
04-26-2011, 08:50 PM
Thank you guys so much for the prompt reply! I had very little traditional art experience, and this program has helped me out quite a bit so far!

I will surely take your advice and stick with it!

Thanks a ton!!!

colesslaw
04-27-2011, 02:21 AM