PDA

View Full Version : average modelling times

asteval
10-23-2003, 04:05 PM
I'm just getting into 3d and starting to put together my own stuff. But, how long on average does it take you to model something? So how long for a car, a human head, a cartoon, etc. Just wondering this becasue my last model took me like 1 and a half hours and i'm wondering if this is average for an absolute beginner to model something like this.->
http://www.deviantart.com/view/3500245/
So my question is how long does it take you to model stuff now at a professional level (looking at the finished model section most of you are ;) ) ,and how long did it take you to model stuff when you were just starting in 3d?
Some of that finished work is amazing and i'm sure it must take you weeks!:cool:

jmcalpin
10-24-2003, 04:52 PM
It takes me about 10 hours to do a good looking head. But I stop and start alot so I am not sure that is an accurate time. I'm sure I could do a decent head in half that time.
It takes me about 10 hours to do the rest of the body. Including some clothes.

UV mapping with the right plugins takes 2-3 hours

Jay

Goon
10-24-2003, 06:33 PM
I don't think how much time a beginner takes to make his model is relevant. You should work on it until you are satisfied and think you can do no better. Don't compare yourself to your peers, its pointless as a beginner.

Just to perpetuate rumors and myth, but i've heard Bay Raitt can knock out a head in an hour. I'm not sure how finished this head would be, but I'm pretty sure it would be for all intents and purposes looking quite good by the end.

So that is definitely something to shoot for. But keep in mind that he is insanely good. I doubt that many people, including him have a finished complex model in less than 20hrs.

Proton apparently makes a model a day just for fun. But at the same time he tends towards cartoonish, simple creations.