PDA

View Full Version : Choice of Books/How To Practice Loomis

gfs
04-18-2011, 01:34 PM
Hi,
Long time lurker, first time poster. I have a degree in digital art (production design/pre-press, etc) but have always wanted to be a better artist/illustrator. While I was able to graduate, I made the mistake of missing out on foundations of art lessons and am trying to catch up now. So I have a few questions:

First I have 3 books - and only about 10 hours per week free (young daughter/Hectic work schedule).

Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain (both 1989 and 1999 Editions) - Betty Edwards
Fun With a Pencil - Andrew Loomis
The Natural Way to Draw - Nicolaides
So - assuming my working knowledge of illustration foundations is crap - which book would be the best to start with? If DotRS, is there a huge difference between editions or should I just grab the later one and go?

Also, as far as Loomis is concerned - how much do you practice? Is it just a matter of practicing drawing heads until you've mastered it?

Thanks in advance.

Lunatique
04-19-2011, 04:46 AM
There is so much more to learning the foundations than just drawing heads, or even just drawing people. The foundations include composition, perspective, values/lighting, color theory, and then anatomy/figure. No single book will teach you all of that. The Loomis books do a pretty good job covering them, and the proper order (from beginner to advanced) of his books are something like:

Fun with a Pencil
Figure Drawing For All It's Worth / Successful Drawing (roughly same level, with different emphasis)
Creative Illustration
Eye of the Painter