PDA

View Full Version : Fine art cross-over to 3D Animation?

redpandafire
04-14-2011, 05:54 PM
I'm an aspiring 3D artist. A recurring piece of advice I've been given is "focus on fine arts theories, and 3D will come naturally like any other tool." But the more I think about the advice, the more questions I tend to ask.

What does it mean to focus on fine arts theories? Also, which theories? Does it mean a 3D artist should go through a university fine arts degree? Can you teach yourself the fine arts? Do you have to be a painter / sculptor like the old masters? Would the old masters make excellent 3D artists today? How important is drawing? How do you re-learn how to "see" the world? How do you learn/apply principles of design? How do you know what to detail and not detail? How do you learn a workflow?

As you can see, I'm a bit vexed with questions. Would anyone be kind enough to help me through one of them? :)

Mr. D
04-14-2011, 07:29 PM
Hello

I would hazzard as guess to say what people are trying to tell you is not so much a particular theory as much as techniques of tradictional art being applied to 3d art. Examples: Color, Hue, Line Weight, Light-Shadow, Textures, Perspective, Composition... etc. And yes tradictional art does hold theories on such subjects and their application. What you need to be able to do is transfer these skills and theories to 3D artwork.
And understanding of theory on using light and shadow to create volume in paintings is still just as useful when determining how to use light and shadow in a 3D scene. And while I call it 3D remember that image you render in your 3D program is still just a 2D image, it was just calculated from a mathatically created 3D world. To that extent go outside and take a photo, that's just as much a 3D image as what you render on your screen(there is of course attempts to create more accurate 3d images/movies, such as avatar but that is a speciallized type of 3D work).