PDA

View Full Version : Rigging mechanical pieces

dez24
04-11-2011, 07:38 AM
I'm trying to get this rigging system to work correctly. I've attached a few photos.
The first image is the first condition (open) and the second the (closed) condition.
I'd like for the dynamic joint to be able to move up and down along the path of the arrows and have the middle joint move as it should so that it shown in the closed condition. I'm new to rigging and any help or suggestions would be much appreciated! I've looked online for tutorials but can't seem to find one that describes this. Thanks in advance!
http://i54.tinypic.com/1iok5l.jpghttp://i55.tinypic.com/2089wev.jpg"%20border="0"%20alt="Image%20and%20video%20hosting%20by%20TinyPic

Duncs
04-11-2011, 07:40 PM
A HI IK Solver will do this job for you. Make a 3 bone chain (2 main bones + the nub that gets created when you exit the create bones tool) starting at the top make sure the pivot of each bone aligns with one of the little black hinges in your image.

Apply the HI IK solver and then link your geometry to the appropriate bones. You can then control the system by moving the IK target up and down.

Hope that makes sense - it's really no different to rigging a leg without a foot!

dez24
04-11-2011, 10:09 PM
Thanks for the response. I am not familiar with the HI IK solver. I'll have to look into this. I've got a deadline for tomorrow so I'll just have to figure out a work around until I learn this.

Do you know why a key frame on the timeline does not show when a curve is keyed? I have some curves blend shaped with a polygonal surface attached. I would like to copy these curves, surface, and blend shapes with their key frames. How would I go about doing this? Thanks!

Duncs
04-11-2011, 11:40 PM
Sorry, my bad. I assumed you were using Max but, from your last post it sounds like you're in Maya? I think the Maya equivalent of HI IK solver is RP solver but I'm not 100% sure. The theory remains the same though.