PDA

View Full Version : Change colour of particles

Pradjan
04-10-2011, 07:11 PM
hello,

i am very new to particle flow. I just have a very basic understanding of it eventhough i am confident with max and animating in it itself. right now i am just trying to create a sphere that spawns particles that die after a short while I have done that but than i tried now for a long time to animate the colour on the particles but fail :( as i said i am really knew to partcile flow.
I also try to get a nice turbulence or distortion ot the partciles, i tried to achieve it with a wind but the effects looks rather bad, i am not sure if this is the way to do it ... in addition i use krakatoa as well but just for rendering my understanding of it is even less tham basic ... unfortunately there are not alot of tutorials out for partcile flow and krakatoa so i hope some body here can help me :) i would really appreciate it :)

regards and thanks,
pradjan

JohnnyRandom
04-12-2011, 03:00 AM
Read about Particle Age map, one caveat you'll need to add a delete operator to the global event and set it to the duration of the timeline to initialize the particles lifespan channel or set it with a script operator.

Use the Betterwind (http://rpmanager.com/plugins/BetterWind.htm) spacewarp, it has more noise options and proper falloffs.

Pradjan
04-12-2011, 10:25 AM
Thanks for the reply. That helps me a lot. For the time being I just used a Standart Map that changes colours and added that in the scene through Matreial Dynamic. I will definately try the Particle Age Map out and Motion Blur is really nice as well :)

Here is a Previs of what I am doing right now:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=32uv7qeDen0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=32uv7qeDen0)