PDA

View Full Version : Storyteller's Five

Raido
04-10-2011, 01:27 PM
Hi, people.
A short animated movie I've made recently. It's my interpretation of 5 characters from different fairy-tales and legends. My point was to stylize every char in a specific way (Frank Miller's Sin City for Red Cap, anime for Cinderella, Kung Fu Panda for Storyteller and etc..), adding a bit of humor and parody to the whole thing =)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cmWi3S8sQHs

Done with Flash, Maya, Photoshop and AfterEffects. Unfortunately had no time to hire a composer for original track and a professional sound studio to record voices - that's next step.

Hope you enjoy.

Goofy21
04-10-2011, 03:17 PM
It had the beginning and nothing more. What happens when u gather them together?
I studied some bit about stories so that will be my point of critique. I won't say to add more(you should) but that would take you much more work.
What you definitely should do is change the dialogue. Put more energy(not the way it is talked but what is talked) The girl may disbelieve something so urging him to explain why(not just by asking like you did, but still thats a way to tell the audience what you want them to know, disbelief is a much powerful tool), make them to quarrel and disagree about something, jokes are never bad(didn't see any opportunity though, +XP was a good one).

I REALLY ENJOYED the animation and the beginning was a pretty good one, you can continue the story.

-this may help you for the next time
You only are presenting to us the characters and that isn't a story, just a beginning, a story is made up of three parts the beginning(what is the story about, the premise , the protagonist and the antagonist), the middle (or known as the confrontation, obstacles must be overcome from your main character to achieve what he desires) and the end(what happens after he achieves or doesn't achieve his desire)

Raido
04-10-2011, 04:05 PM
Thanks for crit.