PDA

View Full Version : Syntax Error Reading 3DL 3D LUT Into Vectorfield


evolross
04-08-2011, 09:19 PM
I'm trying to load in a 3DL-based 3D LUT (in the LUSTRE format) into Nuke using a Vectorfield node. Others are able to do this but when I try with my LUT I get the message "Error reading LUT file. syntax error while reading LUT data".

I've tried looking at the 3DL file and it looks fine. It's ASCII format and matches the format at this link:

Lustre 3D Lut (http://download.autodesk.com/us/systemdocs/help/2009/lustre_ext1/index.html?url=WSc4e151a45a3b785a24c3d9a411df9298473-7ffd.htm,topicNumber=d0e8061)

Does anyone have any sample 3DL lut files that work in Nuke? Or have any insight into my problem? I was thinking it may have something to do with Nuke expecting a different format in what it thinks is a 3DL file... as I've read there are different types of 3DL files.

Of course, there's nothing in the User Guide about 3DL files.

alkali22
04-11-2011, 04:40 AM
If I recall correctly, Nuke can have problems with LUT files when the header is formatted in a way it doesn't like. I believe there was someone on the mailing list with this issue within the last 6 to 9 months who fixed it by altering a few lines of the header, so you might try asking there (I would go try and dig the thread up, but it could take awhile since the archives aren't really searchable).

evolross
04-11-2011, 07:12 PM
How do you go about "asking on the mailing list"? I'm not sure what you mean and/or what that is.

alkali22
04-11-2011, 07:46 PM
From Nuke: Help->Mailing Lists

evolross
04-11-2011, 10:48 PM
Got a solution from Nuke's tech support. If you're using a 3DL format like the one I'm using above (LUSTRE), you have to strip out the header information and start with just the row of keys and then your RGB triplets (my LUT has almost 5000 triplets).

Example:

0 64 128 192 256 320 384 448 512 576 640 704 768 832 896 960 1023
64 84 124
64 88 156
56 88 216
0 52 260
0 88 328
8 28 500
(next however many...)

Then just end with your last triplet. Remove the

LUT8
gamma 1.0

from the file as well. Then it should work. I'm not sure if this is true for other formats as well. It appears that Nuke just wants the raw triplet values and none of header info.

CGTalk Moderation
04-11-2011, 10:48 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.