PDA

View Full Version : Mudbox 2012 Trial


atac
04-08-2011, 06:32 PM
The Mudbox 2012 trial is now available for download (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/download/item?siteID=123112&id=13571415)!

(What's new in 2012 video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSuZrGSuUU4&feature=youtube_gdata_player).)

2012 is also now available for subscription customer download.

SheepFactory
04-08-2011, 08:22 PM
I cant wait to try out the mudbox <> maya connectivity thing tonight. Hope it works as seamless as goz.

Swizzle
04-08-2011, 08:41 PM
Damn! Ptex and the other new painting tools look fantastic. I'm definitely going to have to check this out.

foulball
04-08-2011, 09:24 PM
Have a link for the subscription download? I don't see it with all the rest of the 2012 software.

sforsyth
04-08-2011, 10:22 PM
Hmm... Akamai installer doesn't work for me on Windows 7. Anyone else having that problem?

Ballo
04-08-2011, 11:23 PM
good news, thanks.

vasabii
04-09-2011, 12:19 AM
Maybe it's a wrong thread to ask, but i just installed trial of mudbox 2012 and when i try to start it pops up warning - unsupported graphics hardware (mudbox requires ati or nvidia graphics card), but the fact im using gtx 580 which i think should be supported, i have latest driver installed, reinstalled it and mudbox few times but it did not helped.Any thoughts about this issuе?

gokalpgonen
04-09-2011, 12:08 PM
Maybe it's a wrong thread to ask, but i just installed trial of mudbox 2012 and when i try to start it pops up warning - unsupported graphics hardware (mudbox requires ati or nvidia graphics card), but the fact im using gtx 580 which i think should be supported, i have latest driver installed, reinstalled it and mudbox few times but it did not helped.Any thoughts about this issuе?

it can be just because you are using latest driver. try a few previous version of drivers.

tonytrout
04-09-2011, 01:30 PM
After downloading I had a couple of complete screen freezes when loading a scene I had already saved with 2012, with an nvidia error 8 message, I reloaded my current (latest) driver and I dont seem to have had a problem since even with the same file. GTX285.

rock
04-09-2011, 02:23 PM
It seems the viewcube is not there in Mudboxx 2012 yet. Does anyone know if there's a shortcut to switch to say side view, instead of going to the Object List, right click, then look through?

Thanks.

oglu
04-09-2011, 03:59 PM
there is a marking menue for... right klick (not on mesh) --> right --> up

my most loved new feature..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebPTCE0Nv4M

Ballo
04-09-2011, 04:44 PM
I'm quite happy with that new version of Mudbox. Transfer details or Rebuild Subdivision levels bring extra comfort to modeling process.

I got some errors when I create multiple joints, but if you can load from a maya that could be fine. Grab silhouette is useful to help with the hard modeling process.

Although they still have a lot to do it's looking better this package.

What's going on with displacement, normal or ambien occlusion. Can they be a Ptex texture?
Can you load different textures in differents materials and objets?

That's really clever Oglu, thanks for sharing.

rock
04-09-2011, 05:18 PM
there is a marking menue for... right klick (not on mesh) --> right --> up

my most loved new feature..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebPTCE0Nv4M

Thank you - somehow I miss it. Four movements to switch the view through marking menu, as opposed to three. But it seems more convenient.

oglu
04-09-2011, 06:45 PM
What's going on with displacement, normal or ambien occlusion. Can they be a Ptex texture?


sure they can... just bake one...




Can you load different textures in differents materials and objets?

create a new shader and load what ever texture you want...
2012 is able to paint across different shader and different objects...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kM-oWC_QObE

Bullit
04-09-2011, 11:32 PM
Any relevant improvement concerning hard edge modeling? checking if i should try it.

oglu
04-10-2011, 05:30 AM
No support for hard edges,.. If you need hard edges on a game asset for painting you could bake a normalmap in maya and view it in mud,..

Roger Eberhart
04-10-2011, 05:38 PM
my most loved new feature..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebPTCE0Nv4M

Does the angle based masking work when you send stuff over to Photoshop and back? That would be super useful.

ghib
04-11-2011, 02:24 PM
Is the interconnectivity between max,maya,SI disabled for the trial version or is there a setting somewhere? I noticed that there is nothing in the Preferences to set the paths.

oglu
04-11-2011, 02:32 PM
there should be a "send to" button in the file menue...
file --> send to softimage

ghib
04-11-2011, 02:33 PM
These seem to be greyed out for me.

atac
04-11-2011, 04:38 PM
[The "Send to" buttonss] seem to be greyed out for me.

Do you have the 2012 trial of Maya or Max or Softimage installed? The full roundtrip with Mudbox uses a new interapp framework that is only available in 2012 versions.

ghib
04-11-2011, 05:54 PM
Ah I see now, then no. The latest we have installed here is SI 2011. I'll download the trials then to give the 'send to' a whirl.

Cheers for the responses.

DuttyFoot
04-11-2011, 06:54 PM
Any relevant improvement concerning hard edge modeling? checking if i should try it.

probably they will add this in the next version.

Bullit
04-12-2011, 01:44 AM
Thanks for feedback

karthikarctic
04-12-2011, 07:46 AM
would love to try it but this akamai downloader and the firewall is messing it up :banghead:

sforsyth
04-12-2011, 08:39 AM
would love to try it but this akamai downloader and the firewall is messing it up :banghead:
I don't even HAVE a firewall on and the Akamai installer is messing it up. Nice going Autodesk.

gaganjain
04-12-2011, 09:33 AM
When downloading from akamai downloader at that time view page source and find .exe from it and put that link in ur choice of download manger

sforsyth
04-12-2011, 10:17 AM
Cheers, but unfortunately the Akamai downloader doesn't even launch.

robinb
04-12-2011, 12:36 PM
Isn't there an option to just download using the browser? I think I did it that way.

debris
04-12-2011, 01:32 PM
Hmm... is it expected behaviour that the paint color turns completely black as soon as you crank up a color value >1.0 to e.g. create a brighter than white HDR texture?

Ballo
04-13-2011, 08:01 PM
I knew that smooth brush is one of the weakest point in Mubdox but today I discovered a really annoying thing. :/ tell me that I'm doing something wrong.

DuttyFoot
04-14-2011, 05:54 AM
does anyone have any trouble using the new wacom tablet with mudbox 2012? i am using the trial on my pc and its just not working right, i also have similar issues with the maya 2012 trial. the wacom mouse doesn't work in the tool properties box and when i use the pen i have to click multiple times to select a tool. i cant adjust the sliders for brush size or strength so i have to click in the box a few times until the numbers are highlighted. when i put the new number in and press enter the number changes but it assigns it to another brush.

selected sculpt brush
double click in size box to change size
i change the size from 24 to 34
once i put 3 the brush automatically jumps to the grab brush

gaganjain
04-14-2011, 06:30 AM
@ Ballo sometime it goes bonkers

From maya blog
We are aware of UI clicking issues with Maya 2012 users running tablets that have been set to function in mouse mode instead of the default pen mode. At the moment we have only seen reports of this problem from Windows users.

While Maya 2011 did not have these tablet problems, Maya 2012 is running on a newer version of Qt which seems to have introduced this problem.

We are working on the issue with all the parties involved and hope to have it resolved in the near future. In the meantime if you are running into tablet issues in mouse mode please revert them back to pen mode in your Wacom tablet settings.

SheepFactory
04-14-2011, 06:46 AM
Is anybody else having a problem with the mudbox created uv's getting all screwed up when you one click send the scene back to maya. I tried with a simple sphere and everytime I send the model back to maya it looks all messed up and the paint doesnt look anything like how it looks in mudbox. It works fine when you send it to softimage so I dont know what I am doing wrong with maya or if it is a bug.

gaganjain
04-14-2011, 07:09 AM
@ SheepFactory
Kind of same problem
one click send the scene back to maya make scene bit heavy panning and dolly camera

DuttyFoot
04-14-2011, 01:59 PM
thanks for that bit of info gaganjain

oglu
04-14-2011, 02:09 PM
@ ballo
this kind of strange smooth behavior is mostly caused by bad triangles in the geo...

@ SheepFactory
are you using the newest FBX plugin..?
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/index?siteID=123112&id=6837478

SheepFactory
04-14-2011, 03:52 PM
@ ballo
this kind of strange smooth behavior is mostly caused by bad triangles in the geo...

@ SheepFactory
are you using the newest FBX plugin..?
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc/index?siteID=123112&id=6837478

Is this different than the one that comes with maya 2012?

oglu
04-14-2011, 04:16 PM
i think so...

SheepFactory
04-14-2011, 05:00 PM
I will give it a try tonight and hope it works. Thanks Cristoph.

rock
04-17-2011, 12:54 PM
I have read the difference between freeze and mask:

"The difference between the two methods is that Freeze locks vertices so that they don't move where Mask hides sculpted geometry that has been added on a separate layer other than the base mesh. Also, the mask color visibility can be toggled off and on from the Layers window. Both workflows can be used in tandem to offer more control on how you sculpt your digital clay."

Does anyone know if this should have been made simpler, into one term, by the designers of the software?

oglu
04-17-2011, 01:07 PM
simpler..?
that are two different tools... and they are working like they should...

the freeze brush is used temporary during sculpting...

and the mask brush stays until you finished the work...
every sculpt layer can have its own mask...

Cometsoft
04-17-2011, 10:49 PM
Does anyone know if snap to curve works when sculpting? I did a google search and it seems to have a long history of working sometimes and not working at all. I would think by 2012 that it would either work or be obsolete and off the table. At any rate it isn't working for me on OS X.

Stroke on Curve works well though.

oglu
04-18-2011, 09:55 AM
curves are the same as in 2011...

Cometsoft
04-18-2011, 11:01 AM
curves are the same as in 2011...
Oglu,

I didn't use 2011. Does snapping to curves work for you in either 2011 or 2012?

oglu
04-18-2011, 12:07 PM
its working... sometimes... ;)
curves are a left behind feature...

noone is asking for new curve tools...
if you like them... send a sug to autodesk...

in the mudbox help menue... --> suggest a feature...

Cometsoft
04-18-2011, 12:39 PM
OK, thanks for the suggestions. I'd be happy if the existing ones work as stated in the help files. Am not interested in any enhancements.

Funny, after my last post I got the snapping to work. Am not sure what I did.

CGTalk Moderation
04-18-2011, 12:39 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.