PDA

View Full Version : RIT or SVA

mengmengandxx
04-02-2011, 02:05 AM
Hi, everyone, I have been accepted by RIT (MFA animation)and SVA (MFA computer art).what do you guys know about these schools? Which one would be better for me?

Thank you very much for your help!

KrzysztofFus
04-02-2011, 02:17 AM
SVA is much better. But SVA BFA Computer Art is much better than MFA.

Look at some student work!

http://www.svacomputerart.com/studentwork.html

kemny
04-03-2011, 09:18 PM
Congrats on your acceptances!

I go to RIT, I'm a junior in the undergrad 3D Digital Graphics Program. My demo reel is here: http://vimeo.com/20905582

My program is within the same college at RIT as animation, but is a little different. It's newer (our first class graduates this year) and has more of a focus on modeling, dynamics, motion graphics, etc. than animation and film-production. The grad equivalent is called CGD (Computer Graphics Design). With that little disclaimer out of the way, that I'm not in the animation program...

RIT is very focused on teaching very specific skills (for 3d undergraduate degrees alone, I had to pick from 3D Digital Graphics, Animation, Game Design and Development, and New Media Design) and puts a large emphasis on getting co-ops. I have one professor who just came from SVA, and I think he's mentioned that one of the biggest differences is that SVA has more of an art focus, and RIT has a more technical focus.

I want to be a TD, so I don't regret my decision to come to RIT, which allows me to have a very specific 3d major with a Computer Science minor. However, I'd say RIT doesn't really have the connections yet in the film industry - but, that doesn't mean they won't get there.

If you have any questions about RIT don't hesitate to ask :)

mengmengandxx
04-16-2011, 12:01 PM
SVA is much better. But SVA BFA Computer Art is much better than MFA.

Look at some student work!

http://www.svacomputerart.com/studentwork.html